My ‘Should Have’ Saturday

A Self-Love reflection from Natalie

I love that I am intelligent, caring and independent.  I love that I do whatever I can to pretty much anyone around. I would exhaust myself to make someone’s life better. I also love that I have begun putting that same effort to myself.  I have finally found a place where I do not feel selfish for doing things to better myself. I am working on this becoming second-nature to me, and just becoming more aware of my own needs.  I am quick to pick up on someone’s silent cues but still learning how to read my own.

I lusted after this

Instead I was doing this

I wish I would have got this

Instead I got this

I should have been eating this

Instead I ate this

I should have only had this many pieces of fruit toast

Instead I had this many pieces of fruit toast

I wish my kitchen looked like this

Instead it looks like this

I really needed to do this

Instead I have been doing this all day

I would normally have done this

I am doing this

How’s your Saturday going?

23 thoughts on “My ‘Should Have’ Saturday

  1. biggirlsmall83 says:

    My Saturday has so far been identical to yours. I should have done my workout this morning, but instead I have let it hang over me all day, colouring my mood and preventing me from getting on with other things I should be doing.

    I think I will try to focus on your ‘forgiveness’ cycle, and move on.

  2. Kara (@ Kara's Marathon) says:

    Whatever you did today is exactly what you should have done! Congratulations on moving away from the guilt cycle and taking it easier on yourself 🙂

    Feel free to e-mail me if you need any more self-love reflections; I’d be happy to help!

    • Mish says:

      Kara I really like that ‘whatever you did today is exactly what you should have done’. That’s a really interesting way to look at it, and frankly it’s a great way to look at the day from the beginning and plan out your day. Thanks for that.

  3. Shannon Fab Fattie says:

    I love the cycle charts. It is so simple and clear when you look at it that way.
    Recognition to our behaviors is the key. Really you are perfect you see it and work towards change. That is progress and you are amazing 🙂

  4. Pure2raw twins says:

    I need to learn to forgive myself more. Thank you for reminding me ; ) I tend to a big procrastinator, so I know the feeling of guilt, but sometimes I realize I deserve better….I deserve to be happy, but then I let the guilt come right back in. Ugh. I love your chart!!! Thanks girl for the inspiration and to practice self-forgiveness more.

  5. abbynormally says:

    I had a tough morning with a bad run and car troubles.. but hubs redeemed the day by taking me to a Vegetarian/Vegan restaurant. Yay Saturday!

  6. challenges2010 says:

    Boy Mish your post today sums up the last 10 months of my 2009 almost to a T.

    As for my Saturday so far so good. I worked. Got my walk in after taking yesterday off. Really good day if poker goes well tonight !

  7. Mary @ Fit this girl says:

    Wow. My day went almost identical to yours. Down to the kitchen sink and the cookies. 😛 I had a list of things a mile long and got about 3 done. Made a mess in the process, didn’t work out and am about 60 oz behind on water with 10 min till I hit the hay. Upswing tomorrow! A day of friends and roller skating!

  8. Ralf says:

    Hm. Sounds like self doubt to me. “Mother nature”, the physical world or how you want to name it, makes us look exactly like we should. Our decision, and we have to live with them.

    Maybe we should not make it a habit to “eat clean all day” or “exercise every morning” or whatever. But to only make decisions that are ok, with which consequences we can live with.

  9. Ralf says:

    Damn… my reply sounds so wrong. You achieved _way_ more irt fat loss and sport than I ever did, so you surely do it right.

    It’s just… why should someone question a decision s/he made in the past, if that decision seemed to be right? Of course, today we all know more than yesteday (well, most of the time :-), What was right then could be wrong now. But, well, that was _not_ then. We learn, we adopt, we take the next step.

Leave a Reply

