Stats Sunday: Valentine’s Day

A Self-Love reflection from Sarah

I love that I have an inexhaustible curiosity and a never-ending appetite for knowledge. Even more than that, I love that I’m not scared to change my mind as my understanding evolves.

I have come to love that I have a passion that drives me to fight for the things I believe in, even when it makes me unpopular or I never see the fruits of my labour. I used to hate this about myself because I have been criticised since I can remember for being ‘too intense’. I have tried to ‘turn off’ my passion to please others, but I have learned that only leads to misery. Embracing it is the only way I can be free to be me.

I am working on recognising how far I have come, rather than focusing on how far I have left to go. I am also trying to find a balance – the place between complete control and total abandon.

I LOVE stats. Graphs. Charts. Numbers. Cocktail party ‘did you know’s? So I am going to start ‘Stat Sundays’ and bring you random stats from a certain topic on Sundays.

Stats Sunday: Valentine’s Day


  • Sappy Love Stuff
    • 52% of men propose on Valentine’s Day
    • 10% Of Americans get engaged on Valentines Day
  • Gifts
    • The top selling perfume on valentine’s day is Chanel #5
    • 3% of people give their pets a Valentine’s Day Present
    • On average, men shell out $130 each on candy, cards, jewelry, flowers and dates. That’s more than double what women commit to spending.
    • $403 million is the combined wholesale value of domestically produced cut flowers in 2008 for all flower-producing operations with $100,000 or more in sales.
    • 15 percent of women send themselves flowers on Valentine’s Day.
    • 70 percent of celebrators give a card followed by a phone call (49 percent), special dinner (37 percent), candy (33 percent), restaurant meal (30 percent), and flowers (19 percent).
  • Cards
    • There are approx 1 billion valentines sent each year all over the world
    • 180 million cards are exchanged annually, making Valentine’s Day the second most popular card giving holiday of the year.
    • Teachers will receive the most cards, followed by children, mothers, wives and then sweethearts.
    • 1,330 different cards are specifically designed for Valentine’s Day by Hallmark.
  • Do it or lose it
    • 64 % of men do not make plans with their sweethearts, but beware; 53 % of women in America would dump their boyfriend if they did not get them anything for Valentine’s Day.
  • Candy, chocolate ‘but I am trying to lose weight’
    • 8 billion conversation hearts will be produced this year. That’s enough candy to stretch from Rome, Italy to Valentine, Arizona 20 times and back again.
    • 36  million heart-shaped boxes of chocolate will be sold
    • $14.4 billion: Total value of shipments in 2007 for firms producing chocolate and cocoa products.
    • 23.8 pounds was the per capita consumption of candy by Americans in 2008.

source and source

Happy Valentine’s Day…or for some of us ‘Singles Awareness Day!’

Any of the stats surprise you? Are you going to be eating 23.8lbs worth of chocolate/conversations hearts?


10 thoughts on “Stats Sunday: Valentine’s Day

  1. Kim says:

    23.8 pounds of chocolate… now that’s something I can get into.

    My love is overseas right now (military) so I’ll be on Skype with him!

    Happy Valentine’s!

  2. Megan says:

    I love that so many greeting cards are sent on Valentine’s Day! It’s keeping me employed!!

    I don’t see myself eating 23.8lbs of chocolate, but I’ll try! Just kidding. Kind of. 😉

Leave a Reply

