So, What’s Important?

I am writing quickly between jetting back from an amazing lunch at Bleeno’s Bistro. For some of us in the blog world, Jenna, who like wine…the Swan Valley in Western Australia is an amazing place for Ports. The food was amazing, honestly, amazing.

But, I wanted to write something quick, I just wanted to say hi..and tell you what I’ve been thinking about.

I was in the car today with my friend Leanne, who is amazing, and we were talking about what I had written last night. How, when men are brought into the equation I get all insecure and decide to shut down. Further, in this mental episode, I can fall into the trap of mentally lusting after what could be.

Now, I know that I am perhaps sounding like an emtionally needy woman here, but I am JUST being honest. Cause it ties into food, it ties into exericse, it ties into my sense of happiness.

I say all this to her and she goes But Michelle, you have so much going on in your life and it’s so full. These old patterns won’t be as inticing to you anymore.

You see, many times in all of our lives, we spin our fantasies into these webs and our insecurities into even larger webs. What both of these patterns do is rob us of WHAT’S IMPORTANT!

So, what is important to me?

  • Getting Fit, NOT Thin!
  • Completing my 1/2 marathon training (even if I have to walk it all)
  • Nursing Course
  • Being socially active
  • My faith
  • My family (calling my grandma, having my grandma write ‘welcome to the real world’ on my FB wall for no apparent reason, calling my sister at 4am to tell her something exciting)
  • My twitter/blog/online buddies

You see, there are many times when weight/men/jobs/lack of this or that ROB us of what’s important.

What’s important to you?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

4 thoughts on “So, What’s Important?

  1. Sejla says:

    I’ve been reading your blog almost regularly for quite a while, and it struck me just now that you have been one of the few voices in my head that’s kept me going strong this past year.

    THANK YOU!

    It takes a lot to be so honest about something so personal like a weight loss journey – and everything else that comes with it!

    I had a downer of a day today, somehow swept into the “oh god I’m fat” mode that I havent been in for months – and then read your blog and it reminded me of the one thing I’ve believed in and lived this past year since I got serious about my health and weight loss…

    HEALTHY not thin.

    THANK YOU! You truly are an inspiration =)

  2. Jenelle says:

    It’s so easy to focus on what we don’t have instead of what we do have.

    Things that are important to me:
    – Creating things that I am proud of / immersing myself in art
    – Growing my side business into a full time job
    – My family. I especially noted this my baby nephew grabbed my cheeks and examined my face the other day. I am so excited about being an important part of his life and teaching him things as he grows.
    – My significant other. He makes me a better me.
    – Challenging myself physically. This month it’s learning to love running.
    – Being in touch with nature.

    I’m so glad you’re blogging again. Your words often remind me to be positive.

Leave a Reply

