My ‘scary’ Half-Marathon Training

I am doing something that I never thought I’d be doing…training for a 1/2 marathon.

But, first can we PLEASE talk about amazing food?

Brekky: 3/4 cereal, 1 small banana, 1 plum, 4 walnut halves, rice milk, cinnamon.

As I wrote about yesterday I went out for lunch with my friend Leanne.

We ordered tapas and they were HONESTLY AMAZING! Lamb shanks w/ butternut squash; Shrimp in a cream/butter/garlic sauce w/ rice; figs w/ pruschetta and rocket; hummus/baba ganoush/olive tapande. We each have half of what you see here. I was satisfied for honestly eight hours.

We then hit up the chocolate factory.

I had about 3 TB of chocolate chips and 1 very small chocolate truffle. Me and sugar have an abusive relationship. However, a lot of that is tied with it being an emotional release. Thus, I approached yesterday without emotion. However, in about 5 minutes after eating it I got a POUNDING headache. I just can’t handle chocolate/refined sugar.

I was glad that I went on my run earlier!

You see I am training for the City to Surf 1/2 marathon. It’s at the end of August. I have read SO much of what people have trained with etc. in the blog world. I have decided to go with the Galloway Method. Yesterday I did a 4:1 interval…with the pace of a 9 min/mile. I honestly was buggered at 25 minutes. I wanted to quit. I didn’t want to do another five minute interval. I stopped, gathered my thoughts and did it.

You see, I know that I can. It’s getting through those mental blocks.

I am scared out of my gourd to be training for a 1/2 marry. I am not someone who normally runs more than 3 miles/5 km. I have a 5 mile run on sunday and I just don’t know if I can do it—but I am not going to quit.

What is one thing that you want to do in your life, which scares you?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

7 thoughts on “My ‘scary’ Half-Marathon Training

  1. Hannah says:

    I’m jealous of your arms in the chocolate picture.

    Letting out my creative self scares me to death. Mostly the thought of creating something–writing, dance, music–and someone saying it’s bad, being a jerk, not listening, whatever. Right now I’m taking the baby step of writing for myself and not letting the fear prevent me from doing anything. Hopefully someday I’ll work up to showing of the goods.

    Glad you’re back. πŸ™‚

  2. Lance says:

    Hey Mish,
    I am excited for you!!! Woohoo!!! Know that I am cheering you on all along the way toward the 1/2!

    One thing I’m scared of doing (and have signed up to do) is a triathlon that includes a swim in the ocean. I’m doing this outside of Boston this summer. And – I have done triathlons before – it’s just that the ocean swim part is scaring me. Perhaps the vastness of the ocean, or the waves?? The swim is 1/3 of a mile. So – the length isn’t bad…. Still…it scares me….(and I’m going to take it on, anyway!!!)

    Woohoo!! I am so excited for you! (in case that didn’t come across earlier!)

  3. missyrayn says:

    I want to adopt a child from Ethiopia. I’m scared to death that something will happen and we won’t be able to or that I won’t be ready for the stress of the process. But I know God has called me to this and I will do it.

  4. John says:

    You can do it Mish! Your feeling about the HM sound like my thoughts of signing up for the Half Ironman or not….it’s just 6 weeks after my HM.

Leave a Reply

