My Clap Filled 5 miler

This morning I woke up after a great night out..cursing the ground that the 1/2 of sparkling shiraz walked on.I know that alcohol and I don’t really mix past a glass of wine. Then I got all crampy.

I tried to avoid my 1/2 marathon training 5 miler run.

I ate.
I even put my laundry away.
Didn’t get to the dishes–didn’t want to push my luck too much.

But I got out there.


50 minutes, 4.82 miles (almost five..opps), 10:20/avg pace

  • First 10 minutes were fine
  • 10-15 good
  • 15-17 the mental chattered started. I was going into an area which I didn’t know and it was a lot hillier than I thought that it would be
  • 17-20 I wanted to turn around. I took a walk break and told myself that I could take as many walk breaks as I needed
  • 20-22 I REALLY wanted to quit. In fact I stopped and prayed
  • 22-24 I was running up a hill screaming ‘YES I CAN’
  • 24-31 took one walk break for 1 minute. Then I got into an area which I knew and I was on the home stretch which was good. I knew that I could do it.
  • 31-36 one walk break and was feeling good.
  • 36-40 I went down a path that wasn’t supposed to be gone down, I am a badass, and I took my shirt off. That’s right I was running a sports bra. My flab, my stretch mark. I didn’t care.
  • 41 started clapping to the beat of Ricky Martin
  • 41-50 I knew I was on the home stretch. I REALLY wanted to walk but I made myself do it

I know that there are heaps of you who are reading who have never ran a 1/4 of a mile or who run 31 miles. The point is that I honored myself today. I am exhausted. I was when I went out. But I am going to do it for myself and no one else.

I kept running 1 Peter 5:6-11 through my head. I screamed ‘YES I CAN’ and clapped along.

If you exercise, what do you keep running through your head?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

Happy Easter from Down Unda’

9 thoughts on “My Clap Filled 5 miler

  1. love2eatinpa says:

    i’m clapping for you!!!! (can you hear me? : ))great job!

    i have a 100 things running through my head while i’m working out. sometimes i’m listening to music, other times i’m playing out a conversation. sometimes its remembering stuff i need to do (in which case i become a total dork and use my mp3 as a recording device so i don’t forget my thought.)

  2. Carly says:

    Way to rock it, Mish!
    When I’m exercising, what’s running through my mind definitely depends on the day, but most often – “You can get through this!”

  3. Marie says:

    You rock Mish! Mmm, this make me want to go run again. I remember this great feeling after a run I so didn’t want to do at the beginning. Why did I stop? It made me feel so good. Keep it up!

  4. John says:

    Awesome run Mish! It does get easier the more you run long. You may not think so but it does. I wish I could run at your pace…keep it up!

  5. missyrayn says:

    You did amazing! Getting out there even after trying to avoid it is amazing.

    For me the race has to be broken down into bits. I tell myself I can quit after I get to a certain point but then by that point I usually feel good and don’t want to. And I do a lot of prayer…like Dear God just get me up this hill.

    Congrats again. I’m so proud of you!

  6. Aimee says:

    You did such a great job with your run!

    When I exercise my thoughts go from making a grocery list to just putting one foot in front of the other. Sometimes I wonder what the other people around me are thinking about. And sometimes I do my best to think of nothing at all but how good it feels to move my body.

    • Mish says:

      I sometimes think that as well. How amazing it is to simply be moving. How 100lbs ago I would have never been able to accomplish what I am doing now.

Leave a Reply

