Trying to be PERFECT!

Do you look for the perfect food? exercise routine? man? woman? job? outfit? weight?

I do. I did.

You see throughout my life I have identified myself as a perfectionist. Someone who wants EVERYTHING perfect. I have been known to re-bake and decorate a cake because it wasn’t perfect. For shutting out a potentially great guy, because he wasn’t perfect and/or because I wasn’t in the perfect place in my life.

I have exhausted days at the office, when I was working, because the powerpoint wasn’t perfect. I can find fault in everything, including myself.

However, what I have come to realise is that you don’t have to be perfect. You don’t have to eat perfectly. Exercise to the max level. Prove to everyone in your world around, especially if you blog, that you didn’t have that piece of cake….cause you were perfect.

Now, don’t get me wrong here, because I am not saying that you should throw it all into the wind in an attempt to be non-perfect focused.

One of the areas which I see this happening is within my friends and trying to find ‘THE ONE’! I am not even kidding when I say that the older (tear) I get the pressure is mounting for some people to find ‘THE ONE’! It’s all consuming for some people, the obsessive analysis of the interaction, physical stature, money in bank account, job, ability to make them laugh. It’s like each meeting in an interaction for the potential business transaction of marriage/babies kids. The ultimate thing, is that with this pressure comes 1. Friends only 2. Both men and women becoming increasingly jaded.

It’s exhausting to constantly try and shove people through little holes to see if they fit into what we have narrowly honed in as the PERFECT match.

The point in my bringing this up is because it goes beyond dating. It’s trying to find the perfect

  • job
  • sex life
  • financial portfolio
  • outfit
  • vacation
  • health care plan
  • EXERCISE ROUTINE
  • DIET
  • EATING HABIT

The point is that in the need for perfection, you actually starve out your ability to live. Life isn’t meant to be a perfect balance all the time. Life is meant to be lived with the imperfections that are thrown at you.

So I say to you, go out and life your day today whilst embracing the imperfections. You’ll probably have a damn-near-perfect day!

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

7 thoughts on “Trying to be PERFECT!

  1. love2eatinpa says:

    mish, you are so right. nobody is perfect, we are all human and sometimes you have to embrace the imperfections and just chalk it off to who you are. we all cannot be superwomen.

  2. missyrayn says:

    I am such a perfectionist. But with my back surgery I realized I can’t be perfect although Hunni will try you I still try so hard to be.

    I just have to do my best to be prepared for races, work, eating, etc. and then just enjoy. If I stay to hyped on all the anxiety of perfection all the bad things start to happen.

    YOu are perfect just the way God created you!

    • Mish says:

      Having my faith has given me such strength to squash all the negative self-talk that comes about. I am so glad that you keep reminding me of it.

  3. Diana says:

    Yep. I like this, because it’s true. Sometimes we there are struggles, sometimes things don’t go according to plan… as long as we try our best to find our balance… all is good. 🙂

  4. kristen says:

    I definitely struggle with realizing that I don’t have to be perfect at everything (or anything for that matter). It is enough to drive me a little crazy sometimes, but I’m getting better at stepping back and thinking “why? why does it have to be perfect? why can’t it just be good or great? or even sometimes a bit of a disaster?”

  5. Elizabeth says:

    i too am a perfectionist, and i’m glad you’re addressing the negative parts of being making sure everything is just right. i wish you and all of us the best of luck on this journey.

Leave a Reply

