What 197.8 lbs looks like on me

If you’re not following my ‘Training My Ass‘ page..go for it.

I have decided (hold you breath) to focus (a little) on losing weight. Which means I will be posting my weight once a week.

As
One
Indicator
Of
Heading
In
The
Direction
I
Want

So..this morning I was 89.9kg (197.8lbs). This is what 197.8lbs looks like on me.

You know what…I am excited about shedding the remaning lbs I have on me. Why? So I can SMASH that 5km time. This time it’s not for a diet, a man, a crush, a blog, outside pressure.

This time it’s for my health.

If you’ve lost weight or are losing weight…why are you losing weight?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

24 thoughts on “What 197.8 lbs looks like on me

  1. Mary (A Merry Life) says:

    You should add “on me” to the end of that. That’s what 197.8 lbs looks like on you. On someone else it might look entirely different. People at different heights look different and different weights. For some reason online that never comes into play. Sorry, totally different subject.

    Answering the why here would turn into a blog post of it’s own. A million reasons, but mostly for health. I just want to live.

  2. Reluctant Blogger says:

    OH I didn’t realise you were back here again!

    Was very impressed with you running time! 8 minute mile is very good.

    As you know I keep an eye on my weight as I prefer not to let it get out of hand. I couldn’t do as you did and chuck out the scale! If I stand on the scales once a week then I can spot any upward trends before they go too far. I like to keep my weight at a certain point (around 59kg) just because I like to be slim (for me – not for anyone else), because it is better for my back and yes, because I can run faster. It’s just MY weight but it is harder to stay there with each decade that passes. I think my body more happily sits at about 62kgs these days but cos it all goes on my stomach it puts pressure on my back and after a week or so I get twinges.

    It’s funny how people don’t look their weight cos I wouldn’t have said you were much heavier than me to look at. And it’s the same with my Sandra – she is quite a bit heavier than me but doesn’t look as if she is. Perhaps some of us have heavier bones than others!

    I am running at 10k in August. Am hoping to do it in under an hour which means training for a 9 minute mile.

  3. Jenelle says:

    197.8 lbs of strong, beautiful woman!
    You look fantastic as is – very healthy, long and lean! I’m sure training will only make you look and feel leaner.

    When I started to lose weight it was for health reasons. Once I reached my goal weight, I wanted to lose weight for vanity’s sake. When my mindset switched from health to vanity, I actually gained some weight back.

    Now I’m not focused on weight loss, but on repairing my relationship with food and with myself. If I lose weight, great. If not, oh well!

  4. love2eatinpa says:

    you would be beautiful no matter what you weighed.

    losing to smash that 5k time is a great goal. if anyone can do it, you can!

    as for losing weight, i wanted to lose it i could feel comfortable in my own skin.

  5. Hollie says:

    You look beautiful!

    I just wanted to tell you that your post yesterday meant so much to me (I even linked to it on my blog). Thanks you!

    Hollie
    (www.skinnyhollie.com)

  6. Tami@nutmegnotebook.com says:

    You look amazing at this weight!

    I am trying to drop some more weight for health reasons number one, and I have to admit that vanity does play a part in the process.
    I like the way I look when I am thinner. I feel better thinner.

  7. Yummy Sushi Pajamas says:

    You look amazing.

    I am losing weight so that I can be as healthy as possible for myself and my family, and so my little girl grows up learning about healthy habits and healthy bodies.

  8. Elisabeth says:

    You’re doing awesome. You’re feeling the shift, and it’s a great transformation from “diet” to “living”.

    I don’t weigh myself, so I am not positive of anything, but my clothes tell me that I’m losing weight. I’m not necessarily **trying** to lose weight, but since I’m working out a lot while training for the tri, that seems to be happening. I’m feeling great though, and that’s what really matters.

  9. Yum Yucky says:

    You don’t look 197. I would have guessed a lesser number. And if you feel like NOT posting a weigh-in one week, don’t feel pressured to do that just because you announced that you would. Keep it free and flowing and happy, girl. Whatever that means to you at any given moment. 🙂

  10. Kara @ Kara's Marathon says:

    You look amazing!! And green is a gorgeous color on you 🙂

    I’ve lost weight and am continuing to lose weight for my health, my self-esteem and so I can up the odds of living a very long life with my husband and our future family. I can visualize the person that I will be at goal; now it’s just a matter of getting her out from under all this extra weight!

  11. missyrayn says:

    I love how you look.

    I lost weight because I was completely unhealthy at the weight I was. I was sick and could barely do anything. Now I’m healthy and living.

    • Mish says:

      Man isn’t that the truth….now I feel so much healthier as well. When I am eating well, I feel great. I think that is what sometimes is the hardest to get to, but once you get there, I have to remind myself of that when I want to give in.

  12. Laurie says:

    I have never seen your blog before, and I’d just like to tell you that I am so inspired by reading just a few of your posts. We have almost the exact same body (by the way, how tall are you? I’m 6 feet tall barefoot!) and it is so refreshing to hear someone speak about how they are striving towards health as opposed to this image of a stick thin body. I have always struggled with trying to lose weight so that I could fit in, but now I’ve learned to appreciate my curves and manly muscles instead of hating them. Granted, it would be nice to lose some weight so that it’s easier on my joints when I’m working out, but it’s nothing that I’d freak out about if it doesn’t come quickly. I am so so glad that I found your blog!

    • Mish says:

      Hi Laurie, Thanks for stopping by. WOOT! Welcome to EJ. 🙂 I think the most important thing, of which I’ve written about before, is to know that YOU ARE ENOUGH! I have struggled SO with this mentality and it’s almost eaten me alive. But I am learning that really we are all here to live our lives to the fullest and if we are obsessed (which I still do) about weight/what others think, we are robbing our life of what it could be. I hope you come back…thanks for stopping by.

  13. Mad Woman says:

    Wow. I would have thought more like 175. Are you super tall or something? I’m 5’10” and I’m aiming for about 175.

    You look AMAZING. I love that dress.

    I love coming here to read your posts, you’re such an inspiration to me.

    • Mish says:

      Thanks. I am 5’10”. I once (lusting) 175. I am aiming for about 185 right now. If I get into the 170s…woot. But I was MISERABLE and did it for the WRONG reasons that last time. This time it’s for me, so I can run like the wind 🙂

  14. Sarah says:

    Of course you know how I feel (i.e. you’re beautiful). Plus, I really want that dress.

    Smashing the 5k time is an admirable goal. Make sure you don’t push too hard – injuries are the pits! (sorry, I am secretly a nagging mother…or, rather, a runner who got injured pretty bad from training for a marathon).

  15. Kristen says:

    I am losing weight so that I can have a baby. I’ve gained 65lbs since my husband I got married 2.5 yrs ago and I want to get as much of it off as I can so that I can have a healthy pregnancy and feel good.

Leave a Reply

