I need a hug

I guess in some ways I am just needing a hug today.

I walked in the rain all day long, forgot my purse, am cold and rainy.

I miss them

What’s interesting is that I would normally turn to baking. Food. Being lazy, blocking out what I am feeling.

But I don’t want to do that. I actually want to wash my dishes, put my laundry away, get my paper written, eat a healthy dinner.

I still need a hug, but I know that honestly…I have it in me to change my thoughts or feed into them.

What do you do when you need a hug? What have you done in the past, have you changed, do you still slip?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

25 thoughts on “I need a hug

  1. Renée says:

    I think if you have done something besides turn to old habits, you have truly hugged yourself. This feeling will pass though I understand that you miss your family. Keep them in your heart and do the things you need to do to take care of yourself and tomorrow will be a better day.

    Me? I cry. Or run. Or talk to a friend or my hubs if possible… Whatever I can do to keep me from the fridge or cupboard (doesn’t always work)!

  2. MizFit says:

    slip? always frequently still.

    love myself through it? yes. always.
    for me the key is the feel what Im feeling and not try and distract myself.

    embracing it.
    writing about it.
    being present with it.

  3. Reluctant Blogger says:

    Big hugs, Michelle.

    I don’t know what I do really. I have the boys so I guess if I need a hug I get one! Otherwise I turn to wine or go for a run (or both!!!!) xx

  4. karen says:

    More big hugs!!!

    I’ve lucked out with the joy of a rather snuggly toddler and, if he’s at preschool at the time, an equally snuggly dog.

    When all else fails? I grab my mp3 player and head out the door for a walk — even if it’s just around the block.

    Heck of a lot better than grabbing the box of ice cream and a spoon and going at it like I used to! (Although occasionally I’ll still get myself a bowl that may be a tad too big!)

  5. MrsFatass says:

    Gotta tell you, realizing it’s the hug you need and not the baked good? Effing HUGE. And do you need a hug, or do you need an airquote hug end airquote? (wink).
    I love you.

  6. Gemfit says:

    Oh I still slip as I did yesterday. But usually when I need a hug? I find someone to give me one. And I walk. And sometimes I eat. But less often now and not as badly as I used to (mainly because I don’t have too much unhealthy stuff around me)

  7. Erin says:

    It’s really hard living thousands of miles away from friends and family — I totally get that. Sometimes it helps to go for a long walk, make a giant mug of hot cocoa and watch a cheesy/fabulous movie like Mary Poppins. 😉

  8. joy says:

    I cuddle or walk with my dog when I need a hug… Pre him though I wallowed in it and let myself feel it then feel better

  9. Elisabeth says:

    (((HUGGGG)))

    I often don’t realize that I need a hug until I’m well into my “MOMENT” of hug-neediness. Sometimes all it takes for me to snap out of it is a nice long walk, or calling a friend to go shopping…or a really killer kickboxing class!! =)

  10. missyrayn says:

    I either run or sleep when I need a hug.

    Sometimes I get on the ‘net and talk to friends to get a virtual hug too.

    I try to avoid the kitchen because it doesn’t provide the comfort I want.

  11. love2eatinpa says:

    we all need hugs sometimes. here is a cyber one {{HUG}}.

    it’s great that you are recognizing that emotion and embracing it, instead of trying to chase it away with food.

    nurture yourself a little bit more today, with things that really give you peace.

  12. Karena says:

    You’ve got lots of hugs coming your way from all of us! I know what it’s like to be separated by an ocean (or two) from family. Although I love my life, there are days when I’d give anything for a face-to-face chat with my mom. Or to hang out with my brother. Or watch my nieces grow into beautiful, smart, accomplished young women.

    I still slip up ALL THE TIME. But when I realize I need a hug, I also turn to my best local friend, planning a coffee date for the next day. Or I pour it out to my friends online. Or I hit my mat. Sometimes I get a hug from my 2 year old. Other times, when the 2 year old is the PROBLEM, I take a hot bath. Or read a trashy novel. I invest in some serious ME time.

    Hope you get the hug you need!

  13. Karen (KCLAnderson) says:

    I have to agree, Renée and MizFit tie for best answer 🙂

    I guess my answer is to do just what you did, and that’s ask for one. Even if I have to go to Twitter to do so. Just put it right out there and say “bleh…I feel icky and I want a hug so I don’t turn to food.”

  14. Mad Woman says:

    Sending hugs all the way from New Zealand.

    Lately I’ve taken to disappearing into blog land when I need a hug. I come and read stuff from you and all my other faves and somehow I feel the stress and the unhappiness melting away.

Leave a Reply

