You May Just Change Someone…

Something that hit me this weekend how much I have been impacted by others…others who have been themselves to me. Throughout my life I have had people who have been a true impact on me. They were there when I’ve needed to shake things up. To view myself as something different. To have that helping hand.

  • Mrs. DeHus: 6th grade science teacher. She gave me the time of day. She gave everyone her undivided attention.
  • Mr. Bullock: High School Leadership Teacher. He has such a passion for life. He loved his job, loved giving back to the students and really inspired me throughout high school.
  • Tom: Friend for 10 years. He gets me like most other people don’t. He says really inappropriate things at really inappropriate times and I adore him for that.
  • Ervina: She have given me my faith.
  • Christie: I couldn’t have walked down this intuitive eating journey without her.

I think through the major break through that I had on Friday. I still have the picture of the ‘False Self’ crumbled up in my purse. A constant reminder of the little part of me that no longer matters. I had someone ask me if I was going to burn it. To be honest, I didn’t know how to respond to that question. I suppose that in some ways it’s good to burn it. But right now (kind like keeping your old photos, holey yoga pants) it’s a little reminder of what I was. I know at some point I will get rid of it.

But, yes…even my False Self has been someone who has shaped me.

My TRUE SELF is even more powerful.

The thing which has been nagging at me this weekend….is the BEAUTY OF LIFE..and the people who are in it. How you can stumble across someone and they change your life. How the sheer ability to be patient with a friendship and choose to maintain that can be one of life’s greatest gifts.

I was sitting in church this weekend and we had a presentation from WorldVision about two rescued child soldiers. I mean, kids who were raped, married off at 13, shot at, had bombs blow up their legs, were told to shot guns at 11. Who’s parents wouldn’t accept them afterwards.

I have grown up not having to worry about money, my health is stabilised, I have nice things, I have my faith, my family, my friends. What I need pales in comparison to what children/people all over the world need.

As I sat there, the Pastor goes ‘May you use what talents and resources you have to reach out to those around you who don’t have it. That is a true blessing. That’s how we bring about change. By reaching out’.

The beauty of my journey, your journey, is that it’s marked by spurts or lengths of time with people and events that have impacted you. Someone who paid your rent, had a coffee with you, gave you the best kiss you’ve ever had, the best food you’ve ever tasted, showed a side of them that made you realise that you could be a little more vulnerable as well.

One of the most intense realisations from Friday is that the constant need to appease others, conform to meal plans, and the pressure that I put on myself…was STIFLING ME from living. From me sharing my gifts to others. From doing things for others. FROM LETTING PEOPLE IN!!!! What hit me is that to live your life you have to open yourself up. Give of what you have, in whatever shape you have..so that you may be open to receive.

Those people who impacted you, those events that have changed your life…were because you let yourself be open. Who knows…who you’ve impacted…by simply being you.

Who has impacted you? How do you give/show your true self to those around you?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

Matthew 25:37-40
‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? // When did we see you a stranger and invite you in? When did we see you sick or in prison and go visit you?’ // The King will reply, ‘I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me’.

11 thoughts on “You May Just Change Someone…

  1. MizFit says:

    I love this post.
    Im working on one about ‘service being the rent we pay for living’ and it addresses much of the same thing.
    Who has impacted me the MOST? I truly do not know.
    it took a village 🙂

    • Mish says:

      It does take a whole village…and I think that is something that many more people around the world get…I saw it ALL the time in Timor. I love that ‘service being the rent we pay for living’.

  2. Christie {Honoring Health} says:

    I have been impacted by so many wonderful people, you included, dear friend. You are amazing and every time we chat or talk on the phone, I feel completely alive and happy. You have inspired me to move forward with my life in a way that I never imagined was possible and I hope that one day, we can share a meal, a cup of tea, lots of laughs and hugs in person.

    Keep shining your light!

  3. Helen says:

    This is truly an amazing post.

    My greatest impact probably came during the time when i was a single mother working several jobs, getting no child support. I would be down to my last egg and people would show up at my door with groceries. One time the choir at a local church “adopted” my daughter and me for Christmas – showed up at our door and caroled then loaded our house with gifts. I’m not sure I’ve ever been able to thank those people enough, nor will I ever be able to repay those kindnesses. My hope is that I WILL, one day before I die, have an impact on someone out there.

  4. Scale Junkie says:

    Many people over the years, my husband has had a huge impact, he’s changed me for the better in so many ways.

    Most recently you. Your line about asking yourself ‘does this honor my health/body’ has become a mantra for me. Thank you 🙂

  5. RNegade says:

    Beautiful post! The person I think of who saved my true self from being destroyed was an elderly woman, Mrs. Brown, who lived nearby when I was in grade school. My home life was horrible. A nightmare. I’ll leave it at that.

    But every once in a while I was able to sneak off for a few blissful minutes, or even a an hour, to spend time with Mrs. Brown. She wore huge, funny-looking old lady shoes and had cankles like tree stumps. I adored her. She acted as if everything I said and did was amazing. She cheered for my cartwheels. Clapped with delight when I made up songs that I pounded out on the organ in her living room. Marvelled over my adeptness at pulling taffy…I could go on and on. She was the oasis in my life’s desert.

    Without her love (although our time together was brief), I’m quite sure I would now be dead. Probably of suicide or maybe from homicide (I put myself in some horrifically dangerous situations when I was young because it was what I was used to at home). Because of Mrs. Brown, the small spark of my inner self lived on inside me, hidden away but still alive. My inner self (*true self*) was there all along watching over me and watching out for me whenever I barrelled into danger.

    Thank you Mrs. Brown wherever you are in the universe! I love you.

  6. Elisabeth says:

    Yes ma’am! All very, very true! For this very reason, I try to do something every day that will positively impact another person’s life. Sometimes, it’s as simple as paying for the car behind me at the toll booth…sometimes, I give the homeless guy who is always sitting at the stoplight by my job $20 (once, I gave him $100). I mentor other women with eating disorders because not only does it help them, but it helps me.

    By keeping ourselves open to these experiences, we really do help other people. I wasn’t always this way, but it makes me happy to know that I can help others in very simple ways.

    I never experienced an adult taking a true interest in me before I was in the 10th grade. Miss Dourney was first my keyboarding teacher, then she taught me business in the 11th grade. In the 12th grade, she wasn’t my teacher, but we often had lunch together. She knew I collected elephants (she did too), and used to give me some of her favorite elephants. She cried when I graduated (my Mom didn’t cry when I graduated). She never had children, and she looked at me like her own daughter. She was my “enlightened witness” back then, and I honestly am not sure if I would’ve made it through high school without her. There was an excessive amount of turmoil in my home, and she was my safety net.

  7. Maria (realfitmama) says:

    As cliched as it might sound my daughter’s have impacted me the most in my life. I have become more of my true self since becoming a mother. I can actually feel the shift in me every time it happens and it’s ALWAYS linked back to them. I want to be the best role model I can be for them and if I’m not being true to myself and who I am how can I possibly ask them to be honest and true to themselves??

    After them my grandmother has impacted my life the most. She showed me just how to be a good mother!

Leave a Reply

