My Life In Pie

I am a visual creature.

I love LOVE graphs. Call me a nerd. But I loved stats, I am not even kidding. A graph that works and has stats makes my heart happy.

So, I was thinking about my life. How I have changed recently. Where I want my focus to be.

Exhibit A:

Exhibit B:

You see when we get into the mentality that Dieting/Exercise is our whole focus, that is how we define ourselves. I remember constantly thinking about what I would have to eat and/or not eat so that I could enjoy a night. Or write off a night. Or tell me partner/friends that I was having a bad day, or let a weigh-in ruin my day.

I am not totally at the pie chart below. My food, diet, maintained weight loss will always be a part of my life. However, I have learned that there’s so much more to living then to diet and focus on the scale. Even though I am technically in a weight-loss competition with Fight To The Finish, I recognise that it’s more than that. It’s really about finding balance in my life, living it totally and listening to what my body needs. What nourished my soul.

I don’t want to die knowing that 80% of my days were spent dieting.

What would your pie chart have looked like? Look like now? Write your percentages in the comments 🙂

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

7 thoughts on “My Life In Pie

  1. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    Kudos to you for evaluating yourself so honestly. I have to ask though, and this is not meant to be rude/critical, but just a genuine question…why is friends/family/fun lesser % than diet? It seems to me like that should be higher, but then again, maybe that’s how I become overweight years ago. Just wondering. Love ya.

    • Mish says:

      I think that you have a valid comment. I have to be honest with you Lara, in that it’s where I am right now. My faith life is also involved with friends ie. church etc. So I guess that’s 25% of my time. I would hope that one day food/exercise is part of my life but not consuming 25% of my thought. However, I am so glad it’s not 80% Isn’t it interesting that when we focus on what we don’t have, we don’t get it?

  2. Julie says:

    I find that the higher I push my piece of faith pie to the forefront, it all seems to work out, so that is generally how I attempt to go about my day. Sometimes it falls to a measly 1% and those days are inevitably NOT good days. The days I am able (ie:willing) to focus more on my faith, all the other pieces of the pie fall right into their place…and taste great!
    I love your journey and your honesty and you make me think a lot!

  3. Kara @ Kara's Marathon says:

    Here are the proportions I’d be really, really happy with:
    – Family and friends: 25%
    – My immediate family (husband and dog, and our future munchkins): 25%
    – Healthy living (cooking delicious meals, going for long walks, playing tennis): 20%
    – Work/school: 20%
    – What I need (leisure time, reading, sleeping in!): 10%

  4. Jess says:

    I think what I’m trying to do is to incorporate my diet into the other parts of my life, so that they’re not separated into a pie chart but more like a venn diagram.

    I spend time with my family by learning how to cook from my mom (and I practice adapting my cooking through watching her cook). I incorporate daily therapy sessions (for both me and the parentals), on our routine walks.

    My friends, well, most of them aren’t home but I try to make the weekends available to see the ones. Most of them are aware of and support me on my healthy journey quest and some are even joining me for races/training.

    I think I’m trying not to separate “diet” from the other factors of life because it isn’t a diet to me any more. It’s a lifestyle change that I have to readjust to. I’m trying my best to balance it, but I do know that I spend a lot of my time running/in the gym. I do it because it’s something that I enjoy and love, not because I focus on weight loss.

    Great post. Really made me think. Thanks Mishe.

    Nice post. Made me think a lot about my own priorities.

Leave a Reply

