Why I Write

The other day I was out with my friend Sarah at Wild Poppy (if you are ever in Fremantle Australia, I strongly suggest that you go there). We were chatting out our blogs and then the topic of my ‘Sobbing On A Couch‘ post came up.

She says to me: I couldn’t do that, write that. It’s so brave of you. Do you think that you’ve shared too much?

For those of you who maybe passing through, who are new, or want a quick update, these past couple of weeks have been HUGE for me. I have dealt with some pretty amazing stuff from my past which resulted in the above post, having forgiven so much (it’s xian) and have started Fight to the Finish w/o dieting–intuitive eating.

I remember when I first started reading blogs. In fact, Jenna’s was the first blog I ever read. It was through Angela that I decided that perhaps I could at some point in my life find myself balance with food. I read every single post from The Pioneer Woman, I found strength in Miz, humour and insight through Mrs. Fatass and different/hilarious and thought provoking commentary from Jack Sh*t.

Then I came across Christie, Lyn, Karena, Diane.

The point is, is that I share with you my life…my scandalous wine-o pictures, post-running, post-bingeing, post-awful online date stories, because I hope…just one little glimmer…that I am helping someone kick the voices/false self that has riddled my life FOR THE PAST DECADE.

I share my journey, because it’s my journey. It’s a history of what I’ve gone through, where I hope to go and what I hope to succeed.

Yes, I am Honest.
Yes, I am Raw.
Yes, I am NOT Perfect!
Yes, I take long naps.
Yes, I take bites when I am baking!
Yes, I probably share to much.
Yes, I get Exposed!

I write from my heart and I hope that for one of you, you’re able to open yourself up a bit more to the beauty of you..what’s around you..and where you’re going!

There IS NO WAY I could be where I am today without the blogs that I have written about, the blogs that I haven’t mentioned and YOU my readers. I sometimes wake up in the middle of the night, just so I can read the comments that you’ve left for you. Or blurry eyed read through posts that have been written. I have found myself smiling, lauging, cringing, sobbing, thinking, slapping my leg through so many posts that I can’t even remember.

I write, truthfully, because it’s given me my life back.

Why do you blog? write? read people’s blogs?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

8 thoughts on “Why I Write

  1. Rita says:

    That is glorious! I enjoy your candor, hence why I had to run over when my email went ding.

    I love to read people’s stories, it reminds me that every person I see each day has a story, pain, triumph and spirit. I just don’t know theirs. I love that people take the time to get to know themselves better and teach others in the process.

    I started blogging not to loose weight and get healthy, I already had. I started to blog because I started binging after seemingly years of being “ok” I was scared and alone and frightened. I am none of those anymore. And blogging has helped me be more real in my 3D life too, it’s been a gift.

  2. Miz says:

    because I have to.
    because Im called to.
    if I could singpaintdrawsculptknitsewyadayadayada I might not.
    but I can not.
    so I write.

  3. Karena says:

    I love your authenticity — that’s why I keep coming back. So often in the blogging world, people only show the pretty side. But there’s a lot more to life than just the butterflies and rainbows. The storm clouds are equally, if not more, important.

  4. Hollie says:

    I started blogging because I didn’t have anyone to “talk” to about my struggles with weight loss.

    Once I began to build followers, I felt like I had FRIENDS that were helping me along the way – keeping me accountable. Friends that encourage me and kick me in the butt when I need it.

    I read blogs because I love gaining insight through other people. I now know I am not alone. I feel like that maybe I can encourage other people the way they encourage me. I feel like we are in this thing together:)

  5. John says:

    I write for a few reasons:
    keep track of my weight loss efforts
    motivation when it’s lacking
    support of readers as I don’t always get it around here

  6. Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink! says:

    I blog because I need the support and “kick in the butt” I get from other bloggers.

    I write because I just have to – if I wasn’t writing my blog, I’d be writing something else.

    I read other’s blogs because there is so much to learn from everyone.

  7. missyrayn says:

    I blog because I wish someone would have been there for me like the blog world is when I was struggling to find who I was with myself. I blog because I enjoy sharing even if sometimes it is oversharing. And I enjoy being a part of something world wide that makes me smile in ways my everyday life sometimes doesn’t.

Leave a Reply

