Getting Away

I went to what I would like to call Heaven on Earth.

You see, I am a country girl and I live in the city ‘Big Smoke’ as they call it in Oz. I find that my soul is CHARGED when I go out into the wilderness.

I lust after Ree and hope that someday I will live in the country as a nurse..yeah I am not even kidding, Because seriously, why wouldn’t you want to run through this in the morning with cute dogs?

The funny thing is, is that, I found myself driving home, down the gravel road, bursting into tears. Like a little kid ‘I DON’T WANT TO GO HOME!!!!!’ I don’t know what it was, perhaps the pressure that is waiting around the corner w/ uni, perhaps it REALLY reminded me of home…or simply the calm simplicity of it all. Having cuppas (tea/coffee) in an old freezing house, a real fire, honest people, and WIDE OPEN SPACE! I just craved it.

I need it.

I am exhausted emotionally to be totally honest. I have a HUGE two weeks up in uni world. But I know that the beautiful country is there whenever I need it.

Where do you go to fill your tank up?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

20 thoughts on “Getting Away

  1. marzipan says:

    Looks like you had an awesome time. I’m a bit of a sit-on-the-couch-eat-mushy-food-and-watch-marathon-tv unwinder… but i have to say, i never get beautiful pictures like these either. must be the new camera 😉

  2. Nicole @ Geek Turned Athlete says:

    I don’t really have a place to recharge, but yoga does that for me sometimes. I’m hoping to be able to find a place such as yours when we move to Spokane in two months. A nice lake with a boat plus a swim suit sounds nice! I’m glad you got some time to yourself!

  3. Sean (Learn Fitness) says:

    Recharging and getting back to what is simple is always amazing. I know when I’m out camping or out in the middle of no where I can totally see myself just staying there enjoying the simple life. Maybe someday, I don’t know if i’d crave people more or not the more I was away from them.

    I like that kayak picture, seeing the bow of a boat from that perspective is always fun. Makes me want to go kayaking now, thanks 😉

  4. Karena says:

    We go to Scotland, to the hills, at least once a year to recharge. I’m needing it this year – June 19th can’t come quick enough!

    Lovely photos. I’m glad you took the time you needed to get away from it all.

  5. love2eatinpa says:

    wow, michelle, i’m so happy for you.!

    it’s great that ,1. you know what place to go when when you need to recharge/refresh and 2. that you made it a point to go there.

    as for me, gosh, nothing major is coming to mind. i definitely need some “me” time. i recharge at the gym, or just by taking some time out of my hectic day to read or watch some tv. alone.

  6. MB says:

    Love the pictures.

    I escape the city and head to our little camp in VT on most weekends to recharge and get away from it all. It is such a different life up there. The air is fresh and clean which makes deep breathing much easier than breathing in smog and city dirt.

  7. Rita @ The Giggly Bits says:

    Gorgeous shots, my word. No wonder it’s hard to walk away and after a tough couple of weeks you’ve already had.

    I’m fortunate enough to live with a view of a lake and have deer in my front yard fairly often (and the coyotes trying to eat them) so I totally know the feeling of enjoying the solitude. My front deck is that place with a nice cup of coffee in the morning.

    Although, I love to get to the city every few weeks to enjoy the commotion of it. It’s funny how it works the other way around too.

    Glad you’re feeling better.

  8. Brooke says:

    Such a beautiful place!

    I love sitting on a bench next to the Mississippi River to fill my tank up.

    Or I love the hustle and bustle of Chicago. Just depends on my mood. 🙂

  9. Miz says:

    GREAT QUESTION.
    right now its slipping my hand into my four year olds and heading ANYWHERE (as long as shes not causing the angst)…but as for a physical place: I DONT HAVE ONE….yet.

Leave a Reply

