Running With My Excuses

So, what if I told you, I just decided to RUN with my excuses, instead of letting my excuses run me?

I was reading through this post and I could identify SO much with what Mary had written.

It’s true. I’m tired of it. I’m tired of thinking about it. I’m tired of blogging about it. I’m tired of being fat. I’m tired of wanting to be something that I’m not. I’m just so tired of it all. I’m tired of no progress. I’m tired of backward progress. I’m tired of all of it.

I want to be healthy for once in my damn life. I want to not do weigh ins. I want to not need to do weigh ins.  I want to not need to track my food.

I remember writing back a comment to her and I was surprised as what I had written.

Yes, Mary, it’s hard. But you know what, it’s not about ending when you’re at X weight. It’s an overall lifestyle that you have to adopt. It’s about listening to your body, trusting your body and moving. It’s not about slaving away for a calorie count or exercise goal. It’s YOUR LIFE.

Was I really in a space now where weight loss no longer battled on in my mind?
Was it a conscious shift in lifestyle regimes whereby I am learning to finally listen to my body, watch the scale go down, and sort my emotions out?

I have to admit that Fight to the Finish may just have been the one thing that I needed to get my arse in gear. To finally get going on what I have so desperately wanted—the weight gone for me, by me, with nothing else but me.

However, even when I write this I know that I still struggle. We aren’t PERFECT, and that is something that I have come to accept. So I decided to follow the greatness of Miz and get my excuses out of my head for my running. (My race is in 3 weeks, holy terds). That’s right I busted out this shirt–My Excuses for NOT Exercising Shirt

Not only did I bust out the shirt, but I RAN with my shirt.

That’s right, through down-town traffic at 8:30am rush-hour with those worlds sweating, running, panting with me as I plodded along for 45 minutes.

You see, whenever we think it’s going to be too hard…it will.
When we think that it’s exhausting us..it will.
When we think that we have all the excuses…we do.

I am NOT saying that losing weight is EASY.
I am NOT saying that running is EASY.
I am NOT saying that changing old engrained thinking patterns is EASY.

However, wearing that shirt with my excuses was EASY. For some reason I was almost proud to vocalise, take the fear out of them, and let the exhaustion of trying to constantly combat them release from me.

What excuses are you holding onto?
Can you just get them out of your head, write them down, confront them and run with it?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

(if you go running in your ‘excuses’ shirt..send me a photo..would ya!)

15 thoughts on “Running With My Excuses

  1. Tash says:

    Mish!

    I’m so proud of you for breaking through such a barrier (which, funnily enough, probably only seems like a small obstable once you’ve overcome it!). It takes so much inner determination to do this. You inspired me to go running tonight (something I have done about twice in my entire life), and if I come up with an excuse, guess where it is going to go…! 🙂

    Tash

  2. Sarah says:

    I love you.

    And if I had seen you running down the street in that, I would have rolled down the window, honked, and said “hey baby!”.

  3. Jo says:

    Hi Mish. I like your blog but I never comment. I just read the excuses on your top, though, and realised I should do my part in validating you :). You look great and good on you for not only getting your excuses out of your head, but for putting them out into the world. Taking that ‘exposed’ philosophy just a little bit further! I have been doing well for four months – I have, literally, felt no and acted on no excuses. Then today I wake up feeling a little off and have spent the day eating my bodyweight in (homemade) cake, ignoring my dogs’ pleas for exercise, and skipping the gym for the very first time (bar true sickness) since November. Don’t know what’s triggered it. Don’t know if it will be gone tomorrow. The human psyche is weird indeed…

  4. Helen says:

    What a great post… and I just love this:

    “the weight gone for me, by me, with nothing else but me.”

    If we all could be get there we could be. And be at peace too.

  5. Rita @ The Giggly Bits says:

    That’s fantastic and all very true. That’s a mighty set of ball you got running in that! Bold and beautiful.

    I must giggle at the folks who drove by you and say their excuse on your shirt while they weren’t exercising!

  6. seattlerunnergirl says:

    I think the reason Miz’s exercise is so powerful is that words and thoughts have power. We don’t realize, sometimes, how much what we say to ourselves controls what we do! I have had moments where I’m tempted to skip the gym and I don’t care how goofy I look – I say to myself, out loud, “Exercise is not negotiable!” And when I do that? I exercise. It’s when I start rationalizing or fearing or thinking I can’t that…well, I can’t. So we are, and do, what we think/say.

Leave a Reply

