Half-Assing My Health

Do you half-ass it when it comes to your health?

I read through Ashley’s post

Now that I’ve let go of this stagnant part of my life I can pursue even better things for myself.It feels amazing to know that I can now get everything I want.

No more settling… in any part of my life.

Although her post is about a relationship, I read those last lines and it hit me..straight in the head/heart/body.

You see I have been ‘battling’ my healthy for what seems like forever. I have allergies and it stems from Candida? IBS? Allergies? Sugar intolerance? Whatever the case maybe, I am NOT listening to my body. I am eating shit that makes me have tummy problems. In fact, yesterday I couldn’t finish a run because I had eaten stuff that I knew would upset my tummy. You see (sorry for the details, just taking a page outta Mrs. Fatass’ book) that I have to go to the toilet..ie RUN to the toliet pretty much once/twice/three times per day. I haven’t been ‘normal’ in FOREVER. YEARS!

I have written about it, bawled about it..and still I find myself making a list of excuses as to WHY I CAN’T HONOUR MY HEALTH!

  • It’s too hard
  • I just want ‘ONE MORE DAY’ to be naughty
  • I have my whole life
  • I don’t know what’s wrong with me, so I am just going to eat whatever I want
  • I want to be able to go out and eat
  • I love coffee
  • One more bowl of ice cream
  • I CAN’T DO IT
  • I am tired of thinking of it
  • What if I have to do this for the rest of my life
  • I am not strong enough
  • I am trying to juggle school, working out, Fight to the Finish, life…this is just TOO much
  • I DON’T WANT TO
  • It’s not fair

Get the point. I have every excuse in the book…and it all boils down to my listening and feeding the False Self for so long.

I am here to say that I CAN’T keep giving into this voice that says I can’t do it. I know it’s not going to be easy, but I am NOT a quitter. It’s not easy to eat chicken/carrots/eggs for three days straight. But to be able to run 4, 5, 6, 7, 10 miles without having to run to a toilet would pretty much mean the world to me. It hit me last night when I was running, that my engrained battles with ‘cheating’ myself with food is negatively impacting me.

  • I can’t run as far as I’d like
  • I get totally sleepy because my body is exhausted from processing crap
  • I am irritable
  • Highly emotional
  • Crave sugar
  • Tired emotionally of being sick
  • Becoming used to being sick–have forgotten what healthy is like

You see, we all have sacrifices in our lives that we have to make. Yeah, it’s funny that I have to restrict my food back a bit..I will be following this schedule of food introduction and praying that I will find answers. It’s my damn health…but more it’s my LIFE!

What food stuff have your overcome?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

11 thoughts on “Half-Assing My Health

  1. missyrayn says:

    I’m totally there with you Mish. I have had to realize that just a little bit of something does not agree with my stomach. I can’t just have one cookie and not expect consequenses. It has been freaking hard to give up the meat and sugar. And to limit the dairy except yogurt and to only have one cup of coffee per my doctor.

    But honestly when I do it I’m feeling much better. I’m enjoying life more when I’m not doubled over in pain. It is so hard to manage and not get stupid looks like I’m making up some crazy diet for myself. But I know it’s true and when I follow it I feel great so I’m keeping it up.

    You can do it too. It will be hard but you are a strong woman.

  2. Hollie says:

    Girl, I have the same excuses! But you know what – I am tired of making excuses. Like you said, this is my LIFE.

    TODAY was supposed to be my “one more day” – you know, because it’s Cinco de Mayo! I couldn’t just skip over Mexican food and margaritas today, right? The more I think about it, the more I think it’s just absurd that I keep putting off what I know I need to do…

    One day at a time… one day, it’s all finally gonna “click” and I will get my act together!

  3. Ellie Di says:

    I’m actually just now starting to have to listen to my body for health reasons. I’ve generally been fairly good about paying attention to cravings, what they mean, and when I’m hungry or not. But now it seems like the bod doesn’t want sugar, caffeine, bread, or meat anymore. Which I’m logically fine with, but all of which I still crave for the taste and sensation of eating. It’s especially hard to give up the latter two when I’ve got a husband who won’t give them up with me! But I’m working on it. ❤

    • Mish says:

      I would just say start looking at blogs that will give you ideas. Also, just make food….he’s a man…he’ll eat it 😉

  4. Lisa @bakebikeblog says:

    I was diagnosed with wheat intolerance last year – and since making the switch to a wheat-free lifestyle – my body has thanked me for it 🙂 It was hard – and at times frustrating – but the way in which my body has phsyically (and mentally) responded makes it all worthwhile.

    • Mish says:

      I love that, “my body thank me for it”. I feel sometimes disconnected to my body. I know that sounds weird. But it’s like my mental thoughts overrule what my body is telling me and/or needs..if that makes any sense.

  5. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin says:

    I feel like you and I are on the EXACT same brain wave!! I keep asking myself those same questions, and I keep using those excuses everyday! Especially:

    -I just want ONE MORE DAY to be naughty
    -What if I have to do this for the rest of my life
    -It’s not fair

    I’ve had a really rough week, and these excuses have been my crutch for WAY too long! I’m going to try something I’ve never tried before– stopping my bad behavior NOW, instead of waiting a “fresh start” tomorrow, or next week!

    I thought I had overcome my eating issues almost 2 years ago, but somehow my bad habits snuck back into my life when I hit stress-overload last year. Now I’m back into this ridiculous, shameful cycle and feel like I’m starting all over!

    Thank you so much for the honesty you show on your blog. It’s so nice knowing there’s someone else out there I can relate to, and you’ve motivated stop making excuses! Feel free to email me if you need a buddy to talk to!

    • Mish says:

      I totally know what you mean lovely. I have the same thing and those subtle triggers (stress for me is a big one) can bring it on. It’s amazing to me that losing weight is a trigger. It’s like this old engrained thinking pattern tells me that the day and day after I WI are ok days to shove whatever crap I can find in my head. It’s SO diet mentality and I have been caving into. You should see my poor tummy right now, it’s SO bloated and it’s all due to ‘needing’ to have ice cream and M&Ms. It’s not necessary let me tell you. I think sometimes we are scared and/or don’t want to listen to our bodies because the false self tells us that it’s going to be too hard. But you know what, it’s gonna be even harder down the long run if we don’t. Keep up the amazing work Megan. 🙂

    • Mish says:

      Yeah I totally know what you mean. For me it was about listening to those emotions that were stopping the communication from happening.

  6. Denise says:

    I’ve overcome my crazy craving for sweets and all things processed. I admit I still like eating them sometimes but not in a crazy, obsessive manner. I’m working on eliminating them from my life completely.

Leave a Reply

