My List For Me

I have been thinking a lot, well lets be honest I always do. I have been plowing through some stuff in my life and have come to the realisation that living for anyone but yourself is stupid.

Ok, you maybe married and have babies…I get that we make sacrifices.

However, if you’re not married/babied-up AND even if you are…you have to make sure to take care of yourself. It’s essential. It’s DOWN RIGHT essential that you do things for you.

More though, what do you want to accomplish in your life that you have set out for you?

My List of Things I Want to Accomplish that have NOTHING to do with weight!

  • Travel to Africa
  • Be a nurse for a disaster team
  • Go hiking in a remote area
  • Finish a long sprint tri
  • Make it to a third date with a guy
  • Have my family visit me in Australia
  • Go on some sort of spiritual retreat
  • Cook an entire Christmas dinner

You see that thing that happens sometimes when we focus on things like weight, is that we forget about who we are outside of it. This also happens if we solely focus on a career, school, relationship, crush….we forget all of the wonderful things outside of ourselves..which in turn help to balance us out.

I have to say that I am learning that I have a lot that I want to do in my life. I have gotten side-tracked recently with some stuff, but was reminded of the need to really sit down and ask myself ‘WHAT DO I REALLY WANT OUT OF LIFE?’

So, what do you really want out of life?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

12 thoughts on “My List For Me

  1. Helen says:

    Great, great (true) thought provoking sentence:

    “You see that thing that happens sometimes when we focus on things like weight, is that we forget about who we are outside of it. ”

    At my age, a lot of my desires have to do with travel. My main thing is a two week trip to Italy. I have started saving and hope to do it in 5 years.

  2. Karen (KCLAnderson) says:

    “if you’re not married/babied-up AND even if you are…you have to make sure to take care of yourself. It’s essential. It’s DOWN RIGHT essential that you do things for you.”

    Can I get an amen?! AMEN!

    This is essential for everyone! And I would even say it’s most essential for women who are mothers BECAUSE if mothers don’t do for themselves they will be no good for their children AND their children (especially their daughters) will model the same behavior and not take care of THEMselves.

    I think this is one of the biggest lessons we non-mothers can teach the mothers of the world 🙂

  3. Skyler Meine says:

    New to the site. I think your right I think it is hard sometimes to stay well rounded. Often we become one dimensional and don’t accomplish all the things we want to.

    • Mish says:

      I think this is so true. For some of us being more than one dimensional is scary..and yet it’s what we yearn for. Thanks for stopping by 🙂

  4. CertifiablyFit says:

    Taking care of yourself is so important and too often we loose sight of that.

    For me I want to transition from my current career path to being a full time personal trainer. I already got certified now it’s on to my internship with the fitness company this summer. I so am going to do this!

  5. Erin says:

    I *love* your list. There are so many amazing things to see and do out there and I agree with you–I want to see everything! Most of my “bucket list” items are travel-related like walking on Antarctica, celebrating Easter in Jerusalem, experience sunrise at Machu Piccu.

  6. Denise says:

    When I started running, my weight issues went away. Now my goals mostly revolve around running.

    – half-mary
    – full mary
    – triathlon
    – make money for running gear

    But of course, those are not all my goals. It’s just that… I’m way in love with running! =D

  7. Summer says:

    Yep, I am really bad about not taking care of myself. That’s how I got to 250+ pounds. I have always worried about pleasing other even to the detriment of my own wellbeing. Hmmmm…I’ll have to come up with my own list! =) Very motivating post.

  8. seattlerunnergirl says:

    Oh, I LOVE this topic! Among my many goals/desires are:

    1. Travel to the Holy Land.
    2. Travel to Lebanon (my ethnicity is Lebanese & I have family there still).
    3. Go back to France (it’s been 13 years!)
    4. Visit my friend in the UK
    5. Buy a house and get a dog and plant a REAL garden
    6. Have kids
    7. Run a half marathon

    Those are just a few!

  9. Brooke says:

    Great list Mish!!

    I started a Bucket List this year sort of similar to this. There’s a lot I want to do before I settle down.

    I wish you luck on accomplishing ALL these things! 🙂

Leave a Reply

