A Note From My Trainer

My trainer, Chris, is an amazing man.

You see I was going to sign up for this 14.5 km race which is next Sunday. Then I quit running and thought that I would back down because then I wouldn’t have to deal with the fact that I may have to run parts of it. I basically got scared and didn’t want to do it.

I made up some lame excuse about how I couldn’t afford it and he wrote back about how he wanted me to run. I sat on my lame excuse knowing that really what it was about, was about the fact that it scares the living day lights out of me. I don’t want to run it cause I don’t see myself as a runner.

I then wrote him this

Chris,

I am going to run it. I have to. I will explain later..but it boils down to the fact that I am scared.

M

I mean, who writes that? I guess me. Being the amazing person that he is..he wrote this back to me

Hey Mish,

I’m happy you’ve decided to run. I know it’s a little scary but everything is the first time. Once you get started in the run you’ll be fine. Turn all that fearful energy into your motivation to complete the run. It’s not about doing a time or making a place, it’s just about being there on the day and participating. The rest is a bonus… Enjoy the process, stay in the moment of the journey. You’ve come this far and you deserve to run.  It would be like flying to Australia and not getting off the plane!

Chris

I read that and it clicked. If I can move to Australia on my own…then I can run a 14.5km race. It’s even more than that though, it’s about pushing yourself when you think that you can’t. It’s about Fighting to the Finish. So many of us, are ALMOST there and then stop. It’s like getting to your dream vacation and then turning the plane around.

Well, I did it!

Dear Michelle Gay,

Congratulations! You have successfully entered the 2010 HBF Run For a Reason.

What have you done this week to ‘get off the plane’?

~Mish
Harnessing My Intuitive Self

19 thoughts on “A Note From My Trainer

  1. Elisabeth says:

    Everyone has one of those “If I can do it, so you can” stories. For me, it’s my marathon. I am not a runner. I anticipated having to walk/run most of it because I was also injured. My injury started acting up at the FOURTH mile. By the time that I got to the 16th mile, I wanted to curl up in the fetal position and just cry. At the 20th mile, I realized that it was going to be a really long and painful 6 mile walk to the finish.

    I still can’t believe that I even registered for that race, much less crossed the finish line. At some point during the whole process, I realized that I just needed to stop THINKING and start DOING. Introspection is good only up until a certain point. By thinking too much, I always wind up doing myself more harm than good. If I thought too much about the marathon training/injury/race, I wouldn’t be talking about it now…because I would’ve never done it!

  2. marzipan says:

    Mish I’m so glad you wrote this post. I just very recently starting doing the c25k and have been spending some time thinking about why I haven’t run before this? Even though I like it? And it is EXACTLY what you said – I don’t think that I’m a runner. I think that a runner is someone – [skinnier, healthier, in better shape, etc. etc.] So thank you. And thanks for getting off the plane. can’t wait to hear how it goes.
    p.s. your trainer is hot! that is all.

    • Mish says:

      Thanks for commenting. yes, I totally TOTALLY get what you mean when you say ‘I think that a runnier is someone’ and then the list begins. That’s so me.
      p.s. he’s even a great guy on top of the charming looks 🙂

  3. JourneyBeyondSurvival says:

    I didn’t go pick up my husband at the airport.

    Wait, wait, it’s a good thing from my perspective! I traveled 26 hours straight-thanks stupid volcano-and got three hours of sleep. I got another two hour nap, but finally told Hubbend no way to a 6 hour round trip airport car service.

    I got a MAJOR guilt trip. He ended up having to take the train for 7 hours. He is still a little miffed. But, he’s okay. He’s finding me attractive and silly, and loves me. It’s just a bit scary to stand that firm when he REALLY wants something.

    I guess I’m getting stronger. 🙂

  4. Donna D @donna_de says:

    Hi Mish. I get that. It is about playing your hand and showing up for the day. Will it hurt? Can you do it? Will you want to quit? If you are like ne (I think we are a bit alike) then you will probably think ‘yes’ at various points. But *that* is the point. To think about throwing in the towel – and then pushing through – is what makes us strong and confident. You are doing a great thing and I’ll be willing you along!

  5. shannonsfoodruns says:

    Gosh, what an awesome quote! Sometimes I get weirdly excited when I’m really scared of something, because I know it’s something new for me to overcome. This year seems boring to be because I ran my first distance races and got married in 2009, so I’m looking for new things to accomplish this year. I was scared to get a new job, so I knew I HAD to do it. I chickened out from attending a running group meetup, so I knew I HAD to. Thanks for sharing!

  6. Maria (realfitmama) says:

    This week, after quitting my job and my husband quitting his, we signed a paper putting us into a $25,000 debt so that we could open a deli, be our own bosses and fulfill a dream we have both had for the last 8 years.

    It’s so scary right now because we have ZERO money coming in and have 2 daughters to feed and bills that still have to be paid.

    I guess everything is scary the first time you do it and some are still scary once you’ve “decided to get off the plane” but a friend told last week (when I told her how scared I was) that “if it isn’t scary – it isn’t worth doing.”

    I HOPE TO GOD SHE WAS RIGHT!!! 🙂

    Congratulations and best of luck! I know you’ll do a great job…

  7. Shannon says:

    Oh my gosh Mish way to go! You are going to do amazing and you CAN do this I know it!
    Your trainer is an amazing man and he is right on the money there.
    We are all afraid of the unknown especially when it comes to pushing ourselves but the outcome is goign to be beautiful for you.
    So excited fro you!
    XOXO

  8. missyrayn says:

    My biggest thing to get off the plane this week was to start planning thing for fun for myself. I plan to do so much work and help everyone else and often don’t get around to doing stuff for me.

    I want to enjoy life more so I went to the ballet with Hunni even though it was a 3 hour drive one way to Boston and we had not “real” reason to be there. And I had a blast!

  9. Kate says:

    That is AWESOME!! And I am with your trainer: if you can move to Australia all by yourself, you sure can run that race. Remember too, that you’re not running alone. There will be all of those other people running, and people cheering the runners on. You can do so much more in the company of others who give you a push 🙂 Can’t wait to read how your training goes, and then about race-day itself.

    • Mish says:

      God, race day is next Sunday…AHHHH. But I’ll be ok. Like you said, it’s with everyone else. I have heard that whatever you can run, you can run 3x longer in a race sitauation..which means I can TOTALLY do it.

  10. John says:

    I hope to get off the plane Monday. I’ve delayed starting my swim training for 2 weeks now and only have 8 weeks to my triathlon!

  11. A.J says:

    This post is all too ironic. I moved to Australia (from the states) in Feb as a “fresh start” away from my eating disorder. This past weekend I did the 24k at Great Ocean Road. There were sooooo many times before the race I wanted to fall back on “oh, my knees can’t do it” or “i can’t afford it”……but I knew I had to face my fears. And during the race there were times when my old voices were telling me I couldn’t do it, but then I’d bring myself back to the right here and right now, and while running up the hill I’d thank my legs for being able to move me up it. And I finished. And it was the most rewarding, gratifying experience I’ve ever had. You will do great next week, and you should be so proud of yourself.

    • Mish says:

      That’s so awesome. People ask me ALL the time ‘are you going to stay in Oz?’ and my response always is ‘yes, I am happy here’. I am not sure what it is, but I just feel totally myself here and able to push through the crap that I got weighed down by (literally and figuratively) when I was in the states. Now..your race sounds amazing and I am going to be thinking abt. you this weekend!

Leave a Reply

