Dear Michelle,

Dear Michelle,

I wanted to write you a letter…cause I think that you may need it. I know that you have struggled so hard in the past couple of years to be the PERFECT person that you think that you need to be. In fact, I know right now that Fight to the Finish is really getting to you and bringing up old binging habits, because you know that you going to gain weight this week. It has nothing to do with the weight, I know this, it has everything to do with the fact that you think that you’re losing.

Hon, please for the love of God and all that is holy..can you please see yourself as we see you? You’re intelligent, feisty, down-to-earth, emotionally open, honest, creative, and hard-working. We don’t love you because you are this or that. MEN don’t love you because you are this or that.

I know that it’s hard to power through old patterns. To not find validation in ice cream, snacks, over-eating, treating your body like crap. I get it. It’s all over the blog world of people finding the place in their lives where they accept themselves as they are in the moment and stop worrying about what they should be…and instead love themselves as they are. In their changing ways. This, I know is not easy.

My only advice to you Michelle, is to live the life that you want to live. Start thinking about how you want to be in your life. What does it look like to wake up in the morning? What does it look like to eat? How do you feel? What do you actually WANT to be doing with you fitness? How do you actually WANT to look?

I suppose it’s really about starting to make your life the life that you really do want. Do you want to be thinking about weight and calories and points and binges your whole life? If you want to..then go for it..if you don’t then release yourself from it.

You were once given advice from Katy to ‘fake it til you make it’. Babe, maybe you just gotta live your life the way you see yourself as being..even if it feels weird at first.

I have so much faith in you. I know KNOW that you don’t see it…but I am going to plant this little seed in your mind…and if you want to water it…you can. You’ll start seeing yourself like we do. Capable of becoming all that you are.

Love,
Me

16 thoughts on “Dear Michelle,

  1. kbwood says:

    WOW i had chills reading this, seriously. girl youve got to just surrender ALL of this to the Lord like i know you want to, You have to be a woman after HIS heart and one day a guy is going to see that and THAT is what is going to be the most attractive thing about you. I know that you KNOW this and i know its easier said than done but you CAN do anything with the Lords strength behind you. You keep looking vertical, not horizontal, and Gods perfect timing will hold you together. PRAYING FOR YOU! I have faith in you, seriously. My pastor yesterday said “The biggest thing i want for EACH OF YOU is to BECOME WHO GOD CALLED YOU TO BE, that way you can do ALL the things He wants you to do and He can bless in you ALL the ways He wants to bless you!”

  2. Karena says:

    This is a GREAT post, Michelle. I might need to print this out and keep it as a reminder. It is SO easy to say you’re going to accept yourself as you are and love yourself and treat yourself like you deserve good things. And SO difficult to actually let go of all the… struggle. Knowing you SHOULD be happy with yourself is one thing; actually letting go and BEING happy with yourself is another thing entirely. You’re on to it, girl. I am, too. We’re not there yet, but we’re so close to something really, really good.

  3. VoiceinRecovery says:

    I LOVE this. I have been meaning to write a letter to myself forever. It is amazing how sometimes we need to step outside of ourselves and remind ourselves of how wonderful we are. I have had many moments with regards to eating and falling into old patterns. Sometimes I am not even aware until afterwards that I have fallen into them. I have always wanted to write a dear body letter but never connected to that as I did your letter to yourself. It is amazing the ability we have within ourselves to empower ourselves. I love the plant the seed metaphor, because this journey in life is just like that, needs care, and watering constantly to grow, it isn’t something that can be just ignored to make changes. xoxo

    • Mish says:

      It’s amazing AMAZING that inside there’s that voice that wrote that letter. writing that letter was about me giving it power…hell yes!

  4. ashley says:

    Wow! Such a powerful post! Way to be honest with yourself and combat your negative self image. I am positive that you really are “intelligent, feisty, down-to-earth, emotionally open, honest, creative, and hard-working” – all GREAT things to be proud of! Don’t let yourself tell yourself otherwise! Stay strong – you can get through this 🙂

  5. RNegade says:

    This one makes me cry. It sounds much like the voice of the Wise Woman of Mercy who lives inside me, too. Keep listening for Her communication with you. Sometimes it comes in images.

    Last evening, for instance…

    Swainson hawks were migrating over my own little piece of heaven on earth. They travel in flocks of a dozen or two, seldom flapping their wings, just circling all relaxed and lazy, gliding on currents of warm air, as if they are floating on a river in the sky, moving with grace through space and time, for the sheer pleasure of the ride. During the next few days, wave after wave of these beautiful birds of prey will pass by, overhead, in silence, returning home from their wintering rendevous in Argentina, thousands of miles to the south.

  6. Miz says:

    Its about writing your own story.

    read this A Million Miles in a Thousand Years.

    whenever you have the time.

    it has been life changing for me.

    • Mish says:

      It’s about writing your own story, not being afraid of it..and not making excuses why you can’t write it 😉 Like a picture book really..seeing yourself as you want to be and as you are..through the words/pictures/meanings that you give it.

  7. Leaving Fatville says:

    Oh my.

    That letter was beautiful. It could’ve been addressed to any one of us in this weight loss community. You spoke with your true heart. Your letter honestly made me cry.

    I used to think that once I was skinny everything would fall into place. The world was just be… right. It’s taken me a long time to realize that skinny doesn’t equal the perfect life. I have to work for that, and it may still not ever be perfect but it may be okay.

Leave a Reply

