Stop Listening…and Start Listening

I have been struggling.

I should have NEVER EVER joined Fight to the Finish, because it brings my focus so much back to my weight and it’s a constant place of obsession, binging, and the feeling of being defeated.

But it’s more than that.

VALIDATE me!

I am tired of thinking about being perfect at uni, what men think, how my tummy looks, how I should be studying, how I should be working out.

My friend said to me tonight “You need to write out your expectations of yourself and throw them all away, cause they’re WAY too high.”

I am tired of feeling guilty, bloated, binge-full, tired, exhausted, consumed mentally.

I just want to be.

Then I came across this interview with Miz.

I simply think too often all of us (women especially) look outside of ourselves for validation, answers or ’saving.’ When I finally realized that I could be my OWN superhero it was life changing.I didn’t require anyone to swoop in and save me – everything I needed was already waiting within. I just needed to be STILL and listen.

Then she goes onto say

For me there is no balance. For me balance is an elusive state. I strive to achieve work/life harmony. In a way it all resembles the act of juggling. Some life-balls may be lower than others at any given point in a day/week/month/year—but as long as they don’t slam to the ground I deem it a success.

It’s TIME to listen to ME. I have said it before, but the moment, the SINGLE MOMENT that I stop listening to myself is when the chatter of everything else suffocates not only me…but my ability to listen and enjoy life.

Do you look within? Or outside?

~Mish
Thank You Miz!

12 thoughts on “Stop Listening…and Start Listening

  1. Diane Fit to the Finish says:

    You are beautiful on the outside and on the inside. You are smart, you are well-written, you are already perfect.

    Honestly, when I first started to lose it was all about the outside. But after a period of time I realized that I needed to work within myself at the same time.

  2. Bek says:

    You were right when you threw away the scales.
    In your photos I can see that you know you look good. But then that number tells you something else. You are healthy, you are fit, you are happy. f*#% the number on the scale. You don’t need to change

  3. Karena says:

    I think your friend is right. And I think you are wonderful just as you are. I am learning to look within for validation within, but I agree, it is indeed difficult to make the mind switch.

    Sorry to hear that FTTF is bringing that all back up for you. You are stronger than those emotions and compulsions. Love you, girl!

  4. Shannon says:

    Oh my gosh Mish that is exactly why I do not do challenges or anything else.
    Do your best to focus on YOU. The advice from Miz is about as perfect as it gets.
    You are one of the most amazing people I have met on here. Be kind to yourself and appreciate who you are right now. I see an amazing woman!

  5. Sarah says:

    I’m going to have to disagree a bit on this one…I don’t think most of our problems today is because we don’t look inward enough. I think it’s because we look inward TOO MUCH. Even when we are seeking validation from outside ourselves, it is still wrapped up IN ourselves. It’s still about us. How we are perceived by others. How WE can show people what we’re made of.

    I think in our individualistic, Western, middle class, white way of thinking, we are always seeking self improvement. But improvement of the self comes easily when you look outward to the world…and to making the world a better place. Only when we look outside ourselves and try to be empathetic and better understand our world do we realise how small and insignificant our day to day problems are. Only then to we have something else to focus on…and to make better. And only then do we get a bit of perspective, appreciate what we have…and self-improvement becomes effortless. Because it’s no longer so self-absorbed, the self has room to breathe.

    If that makes sense….

  6. Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink! says:

    AMEN.

    I totally agree with you – your opinion of yourself is all. that. matters.

    You will NEVER please everyone else. You will NEVER be perfect to all.

    Just worry about YOU and how you feel about yourself!

    I agree with Sarah to a point, but I think for the sake of talking about self-image, weight, etc – you really do have to ignore the outside world and just focus on how you feel about yourself. What Sarah’s talking about it is a selflessness that I think helps you become a better person all around but in terms of body image, I would say that I don’t want to look to the world to define how I feel about my own body!

Leave a Reply

