What I Learned in FtotheF: Results Week

I started Fight to the Finish about 7ish weeks ago with a twitter war with Ryan@NoMoreBacon.

I started it with intense fervour.

In fact I “beat” Ryan the first two weeks…

Then I aced myself out “Wait, I have lost, more than him, I’ll gain for sure. He’ll come back and kick my butt.”

Then I stayed the same.

Gained

Gained again.

And the results: I am EXACTLY where I started.

I would normally

be pissed

realised that I did it to myself and I have no one else to blame

try to go back on a diet

be totally down on myself

realise that I WILL NEVER get to where I want to be

BUT…….

I am so thankful for all of the shit that I have processed in the past six weeks

I actually feel like I am starting to Fight to the Finish now

I am thankful that I have GAINED anything…I am EXACTLY where I started. Small.little.victories.

I have learned that my body wants to be fit…it’s my mind that needs to start fighting more

I feel like, in some weird twisted way, this is what I needed

Finding the place in your life where you actually say I WANT TO BE HEALTHY…INSTEAD of thin, x amt of lbs, in certain size of dress…is the moment…in my opinion…that you start to fight for the thing that means the most in life..your health.

I have always ALWAYS used weight, the scale, points, calories, exercise as punishment–tools–methods of getting somewhere that never made me happy. A number on a scale. I know that I have talked about this before and perhaps you loyal reader is thinking “Would this woman just stop talking about what she wants, and just and do it!!!”

I am. I am. I am.

So, Ryan, I give this to you. But I just want to say Thank You for sparking something inside of me that I needed…my own personal fire.

Why are you living the life that you’re living right now? What’s motivating you?

~Mish
Fighting Peacefully

4 thoughts on “What I Learned in FtotheF: Results Week

  1. Helen says:

    Because as I type this my 50 year old sister-in-law is dying after battling ovarian cancer for 8 years. She loved life and lived it fully especially since her diagnosis. I want the same thing and I don’t want my weight/size/body image to hold me back.

  2. John says:

    Why? I was tired of the way I looked,felt in general, felt when I overate,when I binged, when I avoided doing things because I feared being embarassed,etc.

    What’s motivating besides the above is the fact I had dropped 75 & 86lbs before so I knew I could do it. This time I just had to push through and continue past the 250’s to get rid of this weight once and for all.

    I should be in the 250’s next week so based on history the real battle will begin!

Leave a Reply

