Yummy Brekky, 2 HuGe Fitness Goals & Books

Do you ever have a day where you wake up feeling alive?

Well I can tell you that this morning I woke up and felt SO alive. So in touch with everything. I have an awesome guest post here and yesterday I blogged about being happy. Seriously an amazing day.

Look at the view from my (messy) bed!

DSC_0162.jpg

I decided to try to put a Gluten/Dairy Free spin on Angela’s famous Vegan Overnight Oats.

‘Mish’s Ricey Overnight Yum’


DSC_0161.JPG

1/3 c. rice porridge flakes

DSC_0159.JPG

cinnamon
1/6 c. raw quinoa
1.5 c. rice milk
4-6 drops of liquid stevia

Let it soak overnight and eat cold or heat in mircowave. I added a banana. SO good!

Had some grapes before lunch..cause guess what? I WAS HUNGRY!!!!

DSC_0164.JPG

After lunch I headed to a local cafe with one of my students and brought along this book….

DSC_0167.jpg

How great is it to be able to just RELAX and enjoy a book at a cafe with a cup of tea! Brilliant! (yes the book as been a coaster for a bit too long)

One of the lines from the book was “Less of the past, more of the future”

I think that to be honest, I have been still battling with comparing myself to the ‘Past Self’ I was at one point..especially when it comes to my body. I have been thinking A LOT about what I want my life to look, feel, be like. One of the areas which I have totally neglected is a regular fitness routine. Finding something that makes me aware of the fact that I have an amazing body that LIKES to be worked. I remember a post by Jenna@EatLiveRun where she talked about how Fitnessista kicked her booty with the Summer Shape Up!

Well, kids…it’s exactly 12 weeks and three days til my 27th birthday. I have realised that if I want a body that I am happy with then I need to move my ass and get it. I can’t bitch and complain about my thighs rubbing together..and I don’t really feel like starving myself again.

So…friends I did TWO huge things today!

1. Committed to Summer (Winter–for me) Shape up
2. Went to my FIRST 1/2 marathon training session.

I looked at my feet tonight….these shoes…before I headed to my first training session.

DSC_0169.JPG

They have ran out of joy, punishment, challenge, when I didn’t think that they could, have moved sheep and continue getting me to where I want to go.

It was awesome to pump the iron today, to go running and realise that I busted out a 9:30 minute mile…THERE WAS A TIME WHEN I COULDN’T WALK A 15 MIN/MILE! I have underestimated my abilities for SO damn long, that I don’t even know honestly what I am capable of.

So I am running with the mantra from the book: Less of the past, more of the future.

When do you last remember feeling alive?

~Mish
I ran a 9:30 mile…epic.

7 thoughts on “Yummy Brekky, 2 HuGe Fitness Goals & Books

  1. Amanda Adams says:

    All I can say is, You Go Girl. I’m excited to read more about your Summer/Winter Shape Up.

    Alive, you say? Hm. I always feel most alive when I’m on top of a hill or mountain looking over the bustling towns underneath me. And, of course, when I’m blasting downhill on my road bike. The speed is such a rush.

  2. Jae says:

    WHOOOHHHHHHHHHHOOOOOOOOOOOO! You go with your big girl self!!!!!

    I love the fact that #1 starts with COMMITTTED and #2 starts with WENT!!!! Awesome….and inspirational!

    • Mish says:

      It’s pretty dang good. Try it and see what you think. I think that next time I might decrease the milk a little bit and/or add chia seeds.

  3. Sarah says:

    I’m so happy for you and your 9:30 mile! 🙂 I am sure you can do even better than that though – you did a pretty speedy 12 k race, you know!

    I like your fitness plan. I think it’s achievable and balanced! Yay!

    I eat vegan overnight oats about 4 days a week. It’s actually started to dominate over the green monsters I usually have! Gasp! So glad you found a way to make them gluten free 🙂

    P.S. let me know if you want a nut milk bag – I know you said you weren’t crazy for Australian rice milk! You can make cashew milk, pepita milk, macadamia milk, etc….the possibilities are endless 🙂

  4. John says:

    Good luck with SSU! Last felt alive yesterday. Did my first tri in 3 years, 6 months and 94lbs lighter than when I started my journey!

Leave a Reply

