Chocolate Covered Koalas

Have you ever pet a koala?

There is one straggler of an American study abroad student around where I live, so I told her that we were going to go to the animal park. Why not?

First I packed a lunch: Roasted veggies and 4 oz of chicken.

DSC_0167.JPG

1 bok choy
1 small red pepper
1 large mushroom

DSC_0159.JPG

Cut up
Line pan with wax paper

DSC_0162.JPG

Cover w/ EVOO and salt of your choosing
220/420 for about 20 miuntes, stir half way through
BAM

DSC_0165.JPG

and you have no clean up!

DSC_0166.jpg

We packed ourselves for Caversham Wildlife Park and had a great time looking at all of the Australian animals!!!!

DSC_0168.jpg DSC_0185.JPG
(why they stand on one leg, I don’t know)
DSC_0243.JPG DSC_0220.JPG
But the best part is FEEDING KANGAROOS!!!!

DSC_0191.JPG DSC_0197.JPG DSC_0202.jpg
PETTING KOALAS!!!!

DSC_0263.JPG DSC_0265.JPG
Then we stopped off at the Margaret River Chocolate Factory for some sampling of the DIVINE chocolate!!!

DSC_0270.JPG DSC_0273.jpg DSC_0272.JPG
I ate a bit to much chocolate and I knew that I needed to squeeze in Day 2 of the Summer Shape Up..so I got my tired rear to the gym from an EPIC HIIT!!!!
  • 2 minute @ 6.5km/hr
  • Intervals x4, 1 minute each @10.5/11/11.5/12 km/hr
  • Last 2 minutes @ 13km/hr

To be honest I had to talk to myself at the end. It was HARD work and I was tired. The chocolate was sitting in my belly and it was a reminder that it’s not about not eating certain foods..it’s remembering how they make you feel..how they fuel your body.

Dare I say that the run was almost orgasmic…honestly.

IMG_0424.jpg

Ok…off to go have dinner with some friends and hang out with a five year old.

What is the most exotic animal you’ve touched/held?

~Mish

9 thoughts on “Chocolate Covered Koalas

  1. Amanda Adams says:

    Hmm. I’d have to say that the most exotic animal I’ve touched would be a mini horse. They’re freakishly small. Almost like a large stuffed animal.

  2. Miz says:

    hmmmm nothing EXOTIC here at all and Ive been to exotic locales (I just resist stroking the local stuff I guess? :))

    the child lovedloved the photos.

  3. RNegade says:

    Your post brought back some lovely memories…The last time I petted a koala was in a park near Sydney, over a decade ago! I was presenting a paper at a conference there, and we took a few extra days to tour a bit of the surrounding outback and soak up some of the history of the region. It was a fabulous trip. I hope to bring my hubby with me to travel a bit more in Australia next year.

    So glad to see you are enjoying your break from school!

    Oh, and the chocolate looks yummy! I try to eat at least a couple pieces each day, *medicinal* you know! (Good for my inner child.) đŸ™‚

  4. Charlie says:

    Caversham is a very cool place – there’s something rather charming about it and I love the kangaroos too, they were very laid back!

    • Mish says:

      one of my most favourite things in the world, well ok that might a slight exaggeration, is taking Americans there. They freak out. It’s great.

Leave a Reply

