Too Poor to Run

I am actually too poor to run…the 1/2 marathon.

I called the financial aid man today, because I wanted to confirm that I was going to get loan money for my 2011 school year. My tuition is 31,500.00/yr. I maxed out my loans this year and with some family support have made it through.

The financial man told me my worst nightmare ‘we’re sorry but the US Gov’t is going to most likely pull all loan disbursement to overseas nursing programs next year. So you need to pretend as though you have no loan money.’

I wanted to die. puke. cry

You see…if I save every single penny and budget that my car doesn’t break down and live off of 100/wk for the next 18 months (food, going out, gas) I can scrape by.

Thus, a 90.00 training program and 90.00 entry fee to a 1/2 marathon isn’t going to be possible. I am sorry to say that I am actually TOO poor to run races and compete I am afraid.

BUT

There is a silver lining. I have Summer Shape Up which is kicking my ass. I have the road, the mountains, the ocean to keep myself in shape with. So right now, I am going to bail on the 1/2 marathon and stick with the SSU and the gym that I have.

If I don’t head to India in December for a uni course...I am going to pinch, save, and beg my parents for a plane ticket to the Las Vegas 1/2 marathon with MizFit. I couldn’t imagine a better way to cash in my 1/2 marathon virginity than with MizFit (awkward)

So…yeah I guess I have to start making sacrifices. Pinching pennies and realising that I can’t have it all.

If I want to live my dream of being a nurse, I have to sacrifice.

If I want to live my dream of being healthy, I have to make choices.

Have you ever had to sacrifice parts of your desires due to money?

~Mish

19 thoughts on “Too Poor to Run

  1. Donna D @donna_de says:

    Hi Mish,

    Don’t despair – you are not too poor to run a half, just run a self supported half. Enlist some friends, mark out a course, and do it on your own. Get them down there to support you for every few miles, or 10 friends every 2km or so. I am sure you will find lots of people willing to help you out with this!

    You can do it! I am sure you will stay motivated and complete this!

    In the meantime, don’t give up the dreams – any of them.

    Big hugs,
    Donna

  2. Sarah says:

    I’m so sorry to read about your disappointment:(.
    I like the idea of running your own half, though. That won’t cost anything (with the exception of new shoes after you wear them out!).

  3. yumyucky says:

    Welp, I ran plenty of 5K’s but NEVER in an official race. And that’s okay with me. BUT, I plan on being in Vegas! I am crossing my fingers that I will see you there. 🙂

  4. missyrayn says:

    It sucks. Hunni and I want to take a cruise for a belated Honeymoon but it is so hard to save for. And we’d love to take more mini trip.

    And my major goal is a destination run even if it is only for a 5 or 10K. But that involves travel a well as lodging and race fees. So right now it is on the back burner.

  5. missyrayn says:

    But keep up with the training and run your “own” 1/2 Marathon. I’ll make you a medal and certificate 🙂 And even an american gift package 🙂

  6. Greg says:

    Ugh. Money should not prevent you from competing.

    Why don’t you put a link on your blog to your “1/2 marathon fund” paypal contribution page. I’d be happy to kick in some for you.

  7. pgspeaks says:

    Yup. I had to head across the country to be a nanny because I ran out of money. Then I had to put off school cause we bout a house with my money for school. Pretty much life is about prioritizing.

    Find out of your budget is livable, then work to solve the problems.

    And…good luck 😉

  8. Maria (realfitmama) says:

    Oh Mish!! That is so sad… 😦

    Unfortunately I can totally feel you on the “sacrificing parts of your desires due to money” cause I have to make choices everyday because of our financial situation right now.

    Jason is even contemplating going full time this semester (he was going to cut down to part time since opening the deli) just to be able to qualify for the bigger student loan. We have almost $4000 in back tuition for Regan’s school at the moment. Up till now they’ve been somewhat understanding, but we were told today that if we don’t start getting it caught up she will be “replaced with someone who can pay the $270/week tuition” and we DO NOT qualify for tuition assistance because of our debt. 😦

    Good luck and keep your chin up lady – it will only get better – I HOPE!!

    MUCH LOVE!

  9. Laurie says:

    Every time I sign up for race I remember that this thing is expensive. I did think about you training for the sake of training, and yes, doing your own 1/2.
    I have a good training program if you want it, I did it for my 1/2 in March (most of it was in snow!)

  10. Shannon says:

    YES! Many times and dangit to heck it stinks that we can not have it all but such is life. By making smart choices now you will be able to do more in the future. (geesh sounded like my parents there)
    I think your pinch, save and begging plan for december is a FABULOUS idea and very beg worthy 😉

  11. John says:

    Man I’ve been busy and to come back here to this sucks! I’ve been in tight spot for 3 years so know what you will be going through if they pull that funding. I was thinking same thing as Greg. I’d be happy to put a few bucks towards your 1/2 even if it’s the Vegas one.

  12. Miz says:

    and this whole thing started with that in mind.
    all of us running a half together and most of us on the streets of our hood in NONRACES.

    lordy I get what youre saying.

    It took me till 38 to be able to “afford” some things and most of em I still cant 🙂

  13. Sarah says:

    I think starting a fund is a good idea.

    I ran a marathon without being in a race (I trained the Galloway method), and I couldn’t run the real marathon because my hip decided to grow an extra bone. I have to tell you that while it was satisfying, it wasn’t the same as running it for real. You’d be amazed at how many people would donate…for real.

  14. Amanda @ Amanda On Foot says:

    I TOTALLY feel your pain. The one thing I hate about being a college student is that I’m always friggin poor!

    It’s pretty sad when I can’t go out to the movies with friends because I can’t afford to spend the $10…Gr. But I guess it won’t last forever.

  15. sui says:

    Make your own race and run it!

    I haven’t actually signed up for a run either, even though I feel like it’ll give me something to work towards, because the race registration costs are ridiculous… but maybe I’ll organize my own race too! 😀

Leave a Reply

