A $1312.00 Hospital Bill…What Can Be Learned

Are you actually INVESTING in your health?

My day has been a great day! I went back to Fremantle, where I am moving back to…I am SO excited.

DSC_0199.jpg
I caught up with some friends and then went out for lunch with my friend Ervina…just a lovely day.

DSC_0202.JPG DSC_0205.jpg DSC_0207.JPG

I came home and didn’t want to go running. I didn’t want to sweat. I just wanted to sit on my ass and do nothing. I felt like this.

DSC_0212.JPG

But I pulled myself off of the ground and peeled myself away from my computer and busted out a run.

  • 5km/3 miles= 30 minutes
  • 10 min/miles

DSC_0215.JPG

Then I came back to this….remember when I went to the hospital?

DSC_0209.JPG

Yeah..that’s RIGHT… One Thousand Thirteen Hundred and Twelve dollars and no cents.

I have to admit that I just broke down. Remember when I wrote how I couldn’t afford to go running? How the HELL am I going to afford to pay a hospital bill. I frantically looked through my overseas insurance…and hopefully they’ll cover a good portion of it.

BUT IT’S BIGGER THAN MONEY.

If I could just shake you..ME…and say that each day is an investment in your health.

EVERY DAY.

This bill resulted from me neglecting my body. Shoving it with binges, lack of sleep, coffee, sugar, gluten, dairy. Total and complete neglect of sleep. Obsession with perfection. I punished my body and it revolted…to the point I thought I was going to have to go through what I went through in Japan.

201007011738.jpg

(Me leaving hospital, fasting on an IV drip taking the bullet train)

I BEG of YOU! BEG OF YOU! From a girl who has put herself into hospital twice because she didn’t take of herself. For all of the older patients I tended to at the hospital who kept ‘putting it off til tomorrow’ who are now on 20+ meds wishing they would have lost the weight/quit smoking/walked more/stressed less…..

START INVESTING NOW!

As JackSh*t wrote……

201007011735.jpg 201007011735.jpg

I am angry that I let myself slip up again and forget that life is a precious balance where the biggest and most precious investment is in you. But I am SO thankful that I am no longer keeping my past ways a secret and that I am pushing myself to do something, like running, to invest everyday in ME!

How are you investing in your health TODAY?

~Mish

13 thoughts on “A $1312.00 Hospital Bill…What Can Be Learned

  1. NoelleElla says:

    Oh my gosh Mish – what happened in Japan? You look so ill in that picture.

    And I think I’ve missed a bit – what happened when you landed in hospital? And why is it costing you so much? Surely it’d be covered under medicare or your international health insurance.

    • Mish says:

      I had a major issue w/ my intestines. It’s kicked up by stress, lack of sleep and eating things that don’t make my stomach happy. I was sick there, I almost had to have emergency surgery in Japan. I then went back to hospital the week after in Australia and then two days before x-mas I had a colonoscopy..but you know what…I am ok. I shouldn’t have gone this time..but it was a good GOOD wake-up call.

  2. Lindsey @ Sound Eats says:

    Oh man, I’m so sorry about the bill and the $$. 😦 I totally know how you feel. I’m moving and going back to school and am REALLY trying to work my way through so I don’t have to take out loans.

    Everything is a learning experience and everything makes you stronger. And just remember – running IS free! Yes, running half-marathons and things are nice, fun, and great motivators. But you can set your own personal “half-marathons” to do by yourself/ with a friend/ group of friends. Find free training plans online. That’s what I’m doing – “training” right now – but for no particular race because I can’t afford it. Once I get comfortable running more consistently, I’ll set a date in the future to train for for my own personal half. 🙂

  3. Katie @ Health for the Whole Self says:

    I loved reading this post! You’re absolutely right that we can choose – every day – to invest in our health. Today I’m choosing to invest in me by completing my strength training routine and by making sure that I get enough veggies in my diet!

  4. missyrayn says:

    So sorry about the bill. That is what keeps me from diving deep into the ice cream right now.

    I’m blessed with good insurance. I wouldn’t wnat to know what my bills would be without it.

  5. Hope @ Hope's Journey says:

    I’m investing in my healthy today, but getting in my servings of fruits/veggies today, because I’ve haven’t hadly touched produce since Monday. I’m also focusing on drinking water, making healthy choices, and staying away from Subway, as their cookies are DABOMB DIGGETY. That’s what I’m doing today. 🙂

  6. Kate says:

    Good run!! You remind me to remember my past mistakes, not to beat myself up, but to learn from them. You may want to frame that bill? And put beside it a picture of you after a good run? Just a thought 🙂

  7. Sarah says:

    Oh, Mish, I’m sorry you’re having to pay for past actions now. Thank you for being willing to share your story with us.
    Today?
    Today, I am not going to eat when I’m not hungry. And I am going to a yoga class.

  8. JourneyBeyondSurvival says:

    I exercised first thing. And I’m setting up my life to do it again. Tomorrow.

    You’re doing a great job of learning. You’re practicing hard, consistently. Broken keys or missing one day doesn’t mean you can’t keep playing the piano.

    That’s what I’m learning too. So, today I’m practicing.

  9. Tara says:

    Sorry about your hospital bill but kick ass on your run. I’m investing in my health by getting up out of bed instead of lying there depressed and afraid to face the world. I’m running and learning that I don’t have to “run” from emotions any longer. I’m going to the gym everyday and feeling fantastic about leaving sweat on the floor instead being upset that I have to leave sweat on the floor in order to lose weight.

    Here’s to investing in our health!

  10. John says:

    That truly sucks! It is a good message you have put out there. Would have been nice to get it out there w/o it costing you $ though!

    Hope your insurance covers it! Guess you haven’t been there long enough to not have to pay for these things? Or are still there on something other than a Permanent Resident?

Leave a Reply

