Snapping Back

After writing about my post today regarding exercise…I have to report that I didn’t do any of it today.

I am feeling a bit overwhelmed and thrown off my axis:

  • I am moving house, feeling a bit off-center and that kicks in HYPER-CRITICAL Michelle Mode.
  • I wanted to shove my face in ice cream.
  • I wanted to not go to the gym and pick apart everything I hated about my body.
  • I dove into a small grave of pity after being invited to a cocktail party by entertaining, briefly, the sentiment of ‘if only I was thinner’.

But you know what..I’ve snapped out if it.

I have snapped out if it, because I realise that it’s the OLD MICHELLE talking. I have to be patient with my journey in being balanced and know that I may never truly find it..but I don’t have to succumb to old ways.

This quote from my Getting Fit, Not Thin post from Angela resonates so hardcore with me right now.

The only reason I ever used to exercise was to be thin.I didn’t really think about the health benefits or how the exercise was helping my mind, spirit, or insides. I only thought about how my body would look when I looked in the mirror. After I started learning about health and nutrition, my whole attitude changed. I started setting fitness goals and started to focus on what my body could do instead of how it looked.During this time, I also realized that I needed a lot of fuel to allow my body to do what it is capable of. There is no way I could have trained for a 10k, 10 miler, and 2 half marathons by starving myself or over-exercising. The body is capable of amazing things if we would only give it the love and care that it needs.

I am snapping back..damn it. I am.

~Mish

5 thoughts on “Snapping Back

  1. land animal says:

    Wonderful post. I am guilty of exercising for vanity issues often, but I also do stick with it for health reasons too. I know it’s good for me!

  2. KCLAnderson (Karen) says:

    I have to be very careful and examine why I choose to do any form of exercise these days…in fact, my new love, kettlebells, recently threw me for a loop because I was afraid I’d turn into
    a sumo wrestler 😉 But I know better than that now…and I still love kettlebells!!

  3. Laurie says:

    Can so get off my game and do more than “want” to shove my face in ice cream. Thanks for sharing so honestly, it helps to know I’m not in it alone.

  4. Kate says:

    When the nasty side of my self-talk rears its ugly head, I try to say (sometimes out loud), “That’s a lie” and then tell myself the truth. Sometimes this is as easy as quoting a verse from the Bible that tells the truth in that situation.

    I love the excerpt you added, because I have come to a place too, in my life, where exercise is more about being fit and healthy, than being shaped a certain way.

    I read an entire book about what exercise does for the brain: for anxiety and depression, for learning ability, blood flow, memory, etc. And that helped me to realize that my daily exercise is so important for my mood AND my muscles.

Leave a Reply

