I Spy…Black Beans (los frijoles negros)

While I was dreaming up my recipe for my dried black beans I had to dream up why I had so my crap. Seriously, who needs all this stuff?

DSC_0204.JPG DSC_0205.JPG

This weekend hasn’t seen much exercise, other than carrying crazy boxes up and down stairs. All of this moving, had Nicole and I in the kitchen…rugged up..cause it was freezing! Who does this?


DSC_0208.JPG DSC_0221.jpg

Oh my heavens…I love LOVE black beans. It’s not normal or healthy. One of my BIGGEST gripes in Australia is that they CAN NOT do Mexican food. So, when you’ve got no other options, you take matters into your own hands.

Slow Cooker Black Beans
3-4 cups

DSC_0215.JPG

2 c. dried black beans
5 c. of water (if you want it soupy or whole w/ sauce. 4-4.5 c. if you want refried)
1 TB EVOO
.5-1 TB red chili flakes

Rinse beans
Add desired water level, EVOO and chili flakes
Crank up slow cooker to high for at least five hours. Or until beans are soft.
You can: leave them whole in the sauce, or puree them with a stick blender, food processor and/or blender. I used 5 c. of water, so it was like ‘black bean soup.

Black Bean Soup w/ rice and Sauteed Onions

DSC_0219.JPG DSC_0220.JPG

Black Bean Soup as a salad topper w/ spicy pumpkin hummus and avocado.

DSC_0224.JPG

I get that black beans are hard to make, but honestly, it’s SO worth it to make your own. They’re just AMAZING!!!!!!

So I have to ask: Mexican or No Mexican…food?

~Mish

8 thoughts on “I Spy…Black Beans (los frijoles negros)

  1. Julia says:

    I don’t eat “real” Mexican food (even though it always looks delicious) because I am intolerant of spicy foods. I have recently gotten into eating black beans and this look amazing and seems really easy! πŸ™‚

  2. missyrayn says:

    I love mexican but I prefer Cuban. And I learned a lot of the secrets from my cuban friend before I moved so I make it on my own all the time πŸ™‚

  3. Sarah says:

    I love black beans too!! You can get them canned in a few places in Oz now. Kakulas Brothers, Peaches (near your hood!), Angry Almond, and several Chinese shops. And I totally agree about Australians NOT doing Mexican food well. James and I make Mexican all the time! You should come over for a Mexican feast. I’ll have Delcs make us Margaritas!

Leave a Reply

