5 Things I Am Proud Of!

Do you actually give yourself praise?

I know that in my own journey through losing weight, overcoming binging, and reaching fitness goals my biggest and loudest cheering section has been myself..WHEN I listened to it. We are also our own worst enemies and if we don’t take time to give ourselves praise, then we’ll lose track of all that we’ve accomplished.

FIVE THINGS I AM PROUD OF!

1. The Exposed Movement.

201007130842.jpg

I can’t believe that I did it originally and that it’s has gone to the levels that it has. The movement has been covered all over the world and has not only touched me, but those who have participated and who have read the stories!

2. Running a 8:38 mile

201007130842.jpg

I remember in high school when I couldn’t even run a mile. I had to walk the whole thing, and it took me over 15 minutes. I cried when I was running this race, it meant so much to me. It was also a turning point for me in my journey of recovery and starting to re-build my faith in myself.

3. Being nominated for this award by BigGirlBombshell

201007130821.jpg

I was nominated because of my ‘honesty’. I find one of the biggest compliments of my readers is when their say that they appreciate my honesty. It just means so much to me.

4. Fuelling my body with stuff it can eat.

Riced Apple & Banana Porridge
1 serve


DSC_0005.JPG

1 apple, grated
1 small banana, chopped
1.5 tsp vegan spread
.5 tsp cinnamon
pinch of salt, nutmeg, ginger
.5 c. white rice, cooked
1 c. milk of your choice–I used hazelnut/rice milk blend
1 tsp. xantham gum

In a small saucepan heat vegan spread and then saute the apple/banana for about 2 minutes.


DSC_0001.JPG DSC_0002.JPG

Add spices

DSC_0003.JPG

Add cooke white rice and saute for about 2 minutes

DSC_0004.JPG

Add milk and xanthum gum.
Bring to a high simmer and simmer for about 3-5 minutes
DSC_0006.JPG

5. Taking a HUGE risk and becoming a nurse

201007130849.jpg

I already have two degrees in Education. I left a good paying job to pursue a degree in nursing, taking on a HUGE amount of debt…but it’s WHERE MY HEART IS. There are SO many people who are in jobs that don’t fulfil them, I just couldn’t make myself do it anymore. I am following my dreams and you know what..God/The Universe is taking care of the details.

Give me at least ONE thing you’re REALLY proud of!

~Mish

20 thoughts on “5 Things I Am Proud Of!

  1. Melissa @ Tryingtoheal says:

    i’m so glad you’re recognizing the things you’re proud of! such a great way to view life!!!

    i’m def proud of my environmental devotion…i’ve traveled to australia and new zealand for it, along with all over the united states! it amazes me how crazy/independent i am and am proud of it!

  2. Marie says:

    I’m really proud of the courage I had when I faced tons of challenges at the same time (brokenhearted, my group of friends moved away, bedbugs infestation, new job) and still put one foot in front of the other every day and rocked it!

    Great post, thanks!!

  3. missyrayn says:

    I’m really proud that I left education to pursue ministry. It was a huge pay cut…took 2 extra years of education and is full of uncertainty for the rest of my life. But I love every minute of it.

  4. Miz says:

    **whispering**
    not becoming my mother.

    she has many good qualities but to her the glass isnt half full but irreparably broken.

    my glass is overflowing

  5. Deanna says:

    Great post! We should all spend a little more time thinking of the things that make us proud of ourselves.

    I’m proud of my strength and determination, even in the worst of times.

    I’m proud of being an athlete.

    I’m proud of doing what I can, every day, to take care of me and those I love.

  6. shannonsfoodruns says:

    GREAT post! I’m doing something similar to your #5 (and I’m really proud of it)! I’m leaving my well-paying job (in which I’d already invested tons of money and time on a grad degree and CPA license) to go back to school for something totally different (Speech Pathology). It’s really scary to lose my salary, incur a ton of student debt, and disappoint my parents, but it’s where my heart is!

    • Mish says:

      One thing that has been the hardest for me in my big career change was what my parents would think. It’s funny how, even as independent adults, we still need affirmation as though we are five from our parents. Good on your for doing what is in your heart.

  7. Kendra says:

    I am really proud of the fact that I’ve got things together. After years of struggling with depression, anxeity, and other serious issues, it’s really good to just feel content with life and be making small progress toward my major goals.

  8. RNegade says:

    I am proud of my recovery from severe trauma. I am proud of myself for not giving up.

    Wonderful post!

  9. Maria (realfitmama) says:

    I have to say (WITH tooting my own horn) that one of the things I am most proud of is giving birth to two beautiful girls, gaining WAY too much weight and being able to get back into shape and stay there.

    Sure, I struggle back and forth with 5lbs on occasion (that occasion is now and it’s taken up residence on my ASS, but that’s another story) but I feel good that I can be a healthy role model to those girls.

    Because in the end it’s my job to be their role model and NO ONE else’s!

    Congrats, Mish, for finding the courage and the ability to be proud of yourself. If we can’t toot our own horns once in a while why in the hell would anyone else??

    • Mish says:

      Being a mom, after all is said and done and with a bit more in the rear, has got to be one of the most amazing things ever. After your little twitter convo, I know that not only are you an amazing woman..but wife and mother!

Leave a Reply

