Emotionally Laden Food, It’s So Tempting

I went to a party this weekend.

There was pizza, cupcakes, endless veggies sticks with hummus. Bottles of wine. Cheese. Meat. CHOCOLATE!

.P1010049.JPG

I didn’t eat any of it

I have been reading through Women, Food & God and have had a HUGE thought come over me.

IT’S NOT ABOUT THE TEMPTATION OF THE FOOD, IT’S ABOUT THE EMOTIONAL TEMPTATION OF THE FOOD!

When I used to go to dinner parties/buffets/pot-lucks I would go down one of these paths:

  • Starve all day long and then eat as many points that I had left.
  • Screw it I’ll start tomorrow
  • Pick around, ‘be good’ and then usually feel so deprived eat in secret at home
  • Be good, go to bed feeling like I had ‘finally conquered it’ cause I stayed within my point limit–happened not very often.

I see it all the TIME. ‘I just can’t give up that cake, cookies, wine, cheese, crackers….those are like crack to me. I just can’t stop myself’. It’s like the food…an inanimate object has this power over our pysche that is beyond recognisable…unless you’ve lived through these mental conversations which can consume hours, days prior…and the guilt of ‘blowing it’ afterwards.

I am SO been there.

As I looked at the food this weekend I had a choice: keep the emotion wrapped up in the food OR just see it as what it is..food. Enjoy it, but more importantly stop hiding behind it in social situations and let myself converse with people.

I chose the later.

I got in my car and drove home. I didn’t praise myself for not blowing my point/calorie allotment or from stearing away from certain foods or for being good.

What I did was praise myself for taking the emotions out of the food and honoring my new found path.

I almost need to write this post, because I have been struggling this week, especially with baking becuase it’s my ‘unwinding’ activity that is wrapped up in all sorts of comfort emotions…but what it does is puts me in vulnerable situations where I overeat on shit that doesn’t help me get to where I want to be. I still struggle am finding my way. The point is, is that awareness is the first part of all of our journeys in life.

So, what is the ONE thing that gets ya every time? Tell me…what emotions do you wrap it up with?

~Mish

6 thoughts on “Emotionally Laden Food, It’s So Tempting

  1. It All Changes says:

    Butter cream gets me every time. Usually I can resist other treats but its the frosting. It was a treat each year to have a great birthday cake with the home made frosting so I associate it with the happy times of my childhood.

  2. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin says:

    The one thing I can’t turn down is my own strawberry cake with almond-buttercream frosting. If I bake it, I will eat it– and lots of it! Homemade baked goods in general are like “crack” to me.

    I have similar issues with baking– it’s so comforting to me, but it’s also often been a gateway into binges in my past. So, I have to be careful. I’ve been in a really great mind-set lately, so I’ve tried to stay away from traditional baking, and have turned to raw “un-baking” instead! It’s a good way to get the comfort I crave from the action of baking, without all the nutrient-void product! (it’s pretty hard to over-do it on nutritionally-dense treats!)

  3. yumyucky says:

    I’m on this kick now where I actually get a happy-thrill out of leaving the parr-tay without being greedy. It’s like a competition with myself. And it actually removes the temptation and just makes me wanna come out the winner. This little game of mine gives me power over party food.

  4. Kendra says:

    You’re totally right. The major reason it’s hard not to eat bad-for-you-but-delicious foods are the emotional associations and it’s because of those that I give in when I do.

    Soda tends to be my big thing. I am not sure what the association is for me but it’s definitely my biggest temptation.

Leave a Reply

