Vegas-or-Bust: The Program–Hal Higdon v. Jeff Galloway–Part 1

I have ran races before: 10km, 5km, 5km, 14.5km, mini-tri … BUT 13.1 miles? SERIOUSLY? Michelle..what are you doing? AND you’re dragging your poor mom into it? And your sis is coming down to support you and your Dad. And Miz, Roni, BookieBoo, Ryan…and and and ….. GAH!

This whole ‘making a program’ got me thinking about how before EVERY single race I didn’t train ‘enough’ and just winged it. But I can’t wing a 1/2 marathon (well I don’t want to). However, I don’t like the feeling that I HAVE to run the whole time.

I am inventing my own program “Halloway By Mish” 1/2 Marathon Training.

Here’s the weekly run-down:

half marry.tiff

Intervals and total mileage:

intervals.tiff

I am combining the milage and varied activities during the week of Hal Higdon -AND- the weekend milage and interval training of Jeff Galloway.

What can I say, I don’t like rules!

I have revolted..and made a daunting task of training for a 1/2 marathon something that will hopefully work for me. Check back tomorrow when I talk about how I am mentally preparing for this 1/2 marathon.

Have you ever trained for something?
Did you revolt and create your own -or- did you stick to it?

~Mish

You can follow my training of The Vegas 1/2!

15 thoughts on “Vegas-or-Bust: The Program–Hal Higdon v. Jeff Galloway–Part 1

  1. Jack Sh*t says:

    Hmmmm… our plans are nearly identical, except for the fact that mine also includes a 16-year-old kid pulling me on a rickshaw for part of the run.

    Knock ’em dead, Mish.

  2. Brandon says:

    I’m going to be in Vegas running the 1/2 marathon too, although I’ve actually got my first 1/2 marathon NEXT WEEKEND! I’m really not following any specific training program myself. I looked at both of the ones you mention, but something so rigid just really isn’t for me. Basically, I’ve just been going out on shorter 3-4 miles runs 2-3 times per week, with one long run on the weekend. Each week, I just increase the length of my long run by a mile. Last weekend I did 12 miles and it felt pretty good, so I’m feeling fairly confident about actually being able to finish (and run the whole thing) next weekend.

  3. Lara (Thinspired) says:

    I totally did the same thing with my 10K training plan! Great minds, Mich, great minds 😉

    I am so excited for you! This is going to be wonderful. I can’t wait to get (th)inspired by your training! 🙂

    • Mish says:

      are you going to swing in on the run? 😉 I hate feeling like I have to do something..then I won’t do it. But if I have a choice in it..then I’m fine. Perhaps I haven’t kicked all of the three year old in me?

  4. Miz says:

    **raises hand when asked the did you revolt question**

    I listened to the experts and then listened to my BODY over all else.

    Im SOOO excited you are joining us.

    • Mish says:

      I am so excited for it. I am working on something…that I am really excited about…lets just say you’ll be here with me while I am training..well everyone who is going to run.

  5. Mary (A Merry Life) says:

    I haven’t REALLY trained for anything, but I tend to hate training plans if I’m doing it alone. I always revolt and start doing my own thing. I’m excited for you to run the half!

  6. KCLAnderson (Karen) says:

    I considered a half once but the training plan (and yep, it was Higdon’s) made my brain glaze over. Not to mention the fact that I was in a lot of pain from Lyme (although I didn’t know it at the time). So I didn’t do it. IF I were to ever attempt anything more than a 5K, I’d have to hire or beg someone to train me so I didn’t have to think about it. I have finally figured out that that’s just how I roll. 😉

  7. Kendra says:

    Heh, I totally misread the title of this post and kept wondering, “What does this have to do with being vegan?” I thought the title was Vegan or Bust.

    I’ve been having those moments a lot lately.

  8. Helen says:

    When it comes to my running, I usually find a plan and stick with it as closely as possible. I might swap runs around during any given week but whatever the mileage is for that week, I do.

    I just ran my first race in two years – I had taken a sabbatical of sorts – and used Hal’s Intermediate Half program. I beat my time by many minutes. Yes, it was slower than my fastest time, but it was 4:20 faster than the last time I ran the same race.

    It worked for me.

Leave a Reply

