Vegas-or-Bust: Mentally Approaching 13.1 Miles

Good Morning!!!! Or..actually good night for most of you πŸ™‚

So I went ahead and posted the CRAZY insane (not really) blog post about my training for the 1/2 marathon. I snuck in a mini-strength workout yesterday during my classes. It’s here if you wanna read about it.

As I mentioned in my 1/2 program post, I am one to rebel. In fact, yesterday, I was having a convo with one of my classmates and said ‘ah, I’ll do my strength tonight’.

It’s that mentality that has been part of who I have been for the longest time. “I’ll do it later/tomorrow/next week”. I didn’t start a 1/2 marathon training program to ‘overcome’ this mentality. I think that this mentality if much like eating. I like the ‘freedom/release’ from being able to do what I want…namely sit on my ass.

This release for me..is about the anxiety of ‘not being able to do it perfectly’…which boils down to having faith in myself.

I was at church this weekend and this was read:

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see. Hebrews 11:1

I don’t know what hit me more, the fact that I don’t have faith in my abilities -or- that I can have faith in my abilities. In the larger context of life, faith is something that we often neglect in who we are. As Miz so often says..or at least she does in my head…don’t dig up in doubt, what you’ve planted in faith.

This training program is do-able. I know it is.

But I want it.
I want to run across that finish line knowing that I did the best that I could to prepare.
That I am doing this for ME.
No one else.
Not to be thin.
Not to appease the blogging world.
All of these things would have motivated me before.

I am running this race, because it’s about me.

And…I really want a big margarita, in Vegas, with all the peeps, celebrating our accomplishment.

Do you find the faith in yourself?
How do you bring it back to blooming if you start digging it up?

~Mish

8 thoughts on “Vegas-or-Bust: Mentally Approaching 13.1 Miles

  1. Kendra says:

    Faith in myself is something that I’ve been working on. Until lately, I haven’t had any of it but I think that I’m starting to get there. It recently occured to me via your blog that I can’t really believe in anything if I don’t first believe in myself. By that I mean if I have no confidence in my ability to understand, discern, or accomplish things than I can not stand firm in any belief. So, I’ve turned my focus from believing in outside things and to believing in myself. It’s in process.

  2. Lance says:

    Mish,
    You can do this – I know you can – if you really want it. And that’s it – it’s really about YOU. And I sense that very much, that you are at that spot – and that’s so, so good…

  3. Megan @ Healthy Hoggin says:

    I’ve been working on this as well! I have often set goals for myself, only to talk myself out of them– running a marathon, losing ‘x’ pounds, etc. (I think many of these things I was doing for the wrong reason, which is also why I haven’t succeeded in the past). You definitely CAN DO THIS! We all need to just keep reminding ourselves of that! And I think it helps to picture yourself succeeding, too! And setting mini-goals, so that you feel success quicker, and more often– rather than setting a BIG, far-off goal. You should celebrate how far you’ve already come!

    It sounds like you’re in a great place, and you WILL succeed! πŸ˜€

  4. Staff says:

    Ok Mish
    Time for a little pep talk. First – let me explain. I’m running the Vegas 1/2 as well….for the 3rd time. Trust me on this…other than being a tad chilly (yes, it can be COLD) it’s TOTALLY doable. Follow the training program you outlined the other day and you’ll notice that magic will happen. Each time you increment up a little distance you’ll see that you can do it. Then one day, 13.1 miles won’t seem that far at all. Remember, it’s like when you first started on your weight loss journey. The weight you are today seemed SO far off. It’s the same with running – the good news it’s actually easier.
    The course is as flat as a pancake so if you train on hilly terrain as much as you can you’ll find it easier than your usual run. You’ll also find that the great zany crowds will keep you going all the way to the finish.
    You’ll do great.

  5. John says:

    Hello Mish! Sorry it’s been awhile but I’ve been crazy busy.

    I had doubt as well the first time I trained for a HM. Once I ran 10 miles on one of my long runs though all my thinking shifted to this is very doable. Hopefully you will discover the same thing.

    “Staff” above was right too…the crowds and the runners will bring an added energy and halp fuel your run more race day!

    Lastly there’s no problem with you shifting your workouts around but one thing I learned was NEVER miss a long run.

    Wish you all the best in your training to get to Vegas and on race day!

Leave a Reply

