Life Happens ~Maman

What do you do when “life happens?”

Since my last post, a lot of “life happens” events have occurred for me. Within a week, a niece was married and a friend died after a 4 year battle with cancer at the all too young age of 44.

Life’s events, whether full of joy or sadness, have a way of knocking you off your game and out of your routine, especially when the routine is a new one and not fully ingrained in your daily ritual.

I am a very strong-willed person and I asked myself, “Why are these two events throwing off your desire to achieve a goal?” I’ve always thought of myself as a very introverted and independent person who was able to power my actions through internal motivation not externally through others.

Both the wedding and the funeral were attended by others who mean a lot to me. Many people I hadn’t seen in over a year and the events provided the opportunity to catch up. I shared my goal of running the half-marathon and the training program I was immersed in. To my surprise, I was met with responses of doubt and disinterest. Basically – whatever, who cares!?!

I must say it shook my world to hear a lack of support and encouragement of my personal goals from people who were close to me.

My training program languished.

After the realization that I was using other’s lack of motivation to effect my motivation, I knew I had to hit the reset button in my head and get the passion back for my goals.

So, after a few weeks of hit-and-miss training for the half-marathon, I got my groove back…and, BABY IT’S BACK!

That’s right, little miss independent internal motivation seeker has the pedal to the metal!

Here’s what a basic training week looks like:

  • Monday: 3 mile WALK, 60 min STRENGTH TRAINING
  • Tuesday: 30 min RUN, 60 min YOGA
  • Wednesday: 3 mile WALK, 60 min STRENGTH TRAINING
  • Thursday: 30 min RUN, 60 min YOGA
  • Friday: 3 mile WALK
  • Saturday: 3 mile WALK, 60 min STRENGTH TRAINING
  • Sunday: 4 mile RUN (distance increases each week until half-marathon day)

It’s a little over 15 weeks until the half-marathon and I am going to do my flat out best to stick to my routine. Because there’s one thing for certain, more “life happens” events will occur and next time they’re not throwing my game off.

That’s right, Game on!

What do you when “life happens?”


————–

Thanks Mom for writing another guest post. Do you have rest days? You crazy woman!

We’re both running the Vegas 1/2 Marathon 🙂 WOOT! Keep up-to-date with both of your running programs..she’ll be back to post again! ~Mish

11 thoughts on “Life Happens ~Maman

  1. Mish says:

    This if from Suzanne @ http://scaredofwearingabathingsuit.blogspot.com/

    So sorry to hear about the loss of your friend!

    It’s amazing how derailing it can be when people don’t share your enthusiasm for your goals. I told my DH about my dream goal of running the London Marathon and he responses was “really why would you want to do that?”. I was shocked. It took me a minute to regroup and realize that his lack of interest wasn’t a reflection on my goal and I was going to keep on reaching for it.

    Good luck with the training programme. I’m sure you’ll rock it out!

  2. Helen says:

    Mish, you do what you think you should but I’ve done a whole lot of running and racing and you need to put one day of complete and total rest on that schedule. Do no exercise day of rest I mean. Even the elites do that.

  3. Foodie McBody says:

    Doubt and disinterest?? I am incredulous at that and the only thing that can explain this is ENVY. People need to pooh-pooh your amazing accomplishments and goals because they don’t have any of their own. That’s shocking to me. And sad.

    And I echo the need for “rest breaks” as least once a week.

    I can’t wait to meet you both in Las Vegas!!!!!!!!!

  4. SeattleRunnerGirl says:

    Okay, seriously? The fact that you (maman) are running a half marathon with your daughter (the kick-a$$ mish) is met with doubt and disinterest? Who ARE these people??! I’m sorry to hear of the loss of your friend and think of the cycle of life you experienced recently with the funeral and the wedding. It’s true, though – life goes on. It must. Think of your training schedule as time for YOU – not just physically, but mentally and emotionally and spiritually, too. Use that time to stay centered so that life, as it happens, doesn’t throw you off course.

    And for goodness’ sake, woman, add a rest day to your schedule!! (Is that rude, talking to Mish’s mom like that?!?!)

  5. Beverlee Stilwell says:

    This is Maman here.

    I understand everyone worrying about a rest day in my schedule. I really feel 3 miles of walking along the beautiful river I live next to is truly rest in a sense. Ok, so it’s not rest in the classic sense but I feel it is truly “rest” for the soul….strolling next to beautiful blue water tumbling over boulders, sun on your face, birds chirping. You get the picture. 🙂

    Thanks for all the comments, insights and words of encouragement!

    “Maman”

Leave a Reply

