Wedding Brain Update: Creating Wedding Website, Invites & More

Hey there….so many exciting things to say about wedding planning!!!

Oregon Homecoming:
First, for those who don’t know, I’m going to go back to Oregon for ONE week (well one week and 3 hours) to plan the June ceremony. I had panic attacks about three months ago, because the wedding planning overseas, not knowing the venue thing..got to me. Also, I wouldn’t have seen my family since I had gotten engaged. So, I found a ticket, booked it, and am going.

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 8.09.43 AM

Thus, during my time for that week is BOOKED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Invitations:
I have been thinking a lot about invitations. We’re having the Oregon ceremony 28 June 2014, thinking of sending out in Late January-Early February. These are some which I’m liking at the moment. I’m tossing up between getting a PDF file and doing it myself…or having someone do it for me. I thought about ‘save the dates’, but because we have a website (see below), I’ve decided not to do them.

il_570xN.380087815_nodd(forget me knot paperie)

il_570xN.264065459(decadent designs)

il_570xN.454628990_9urt(the memory trunk)
these are the ‘save the date’ but I’ve written to Tricia and she said they can be made into an invite

il_570xN.367498045_ime3(Jeneze)

il_570xN.408916148_5cye(notable affairs)

Wedding Website and RSVPs Cards:
When I first started going about this whole wedding planning business, I tapped into my crazy blogger brain and created a website for everything. Being that it’s overseas and we’re inviting people from all around the world (USA, Australia, Finland, Brazil) it was too hard..so I did this “go to our website”. It took awhile to create, but it’s SO worth it!

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 9.04.47 AM

I chose the site: ewedding.com. You can do a free version, or get the upgraded version for 100.00/yr which allows you to customise and do RSVPs and a whole host of other things from. Here’s a screen shot of the things which you have an option of ‘enabling’ and/or re-naming.

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 9.12.48 AM
I’m not going to do traditional paper RSVPs, we’re going to do it through our website. All of my family, almost all, are online. It’s too complicated with international postage, etc. Savin’ trees as well.

Gift Registry:
We’ve also ran into the issue of wedding registries. I was thinking of making an online wish-list with Australian department stores Myers and David Jones. But apparently, they are living in 1998 and you can’t buy the gifts online from anywhere in the world. You have to either e-mail them directly, or go to the store. How silly is that? There’s no point in making a US registry because we won’t have the luggage space to bring stuff back. So, we’ve created a list of options for people including purchasing online gift vouchers, honeymoon gift ideas and a ‘wishing well’ (which is something I didn’t really want to do, but we’ve tried all other options).

Screen shot 2013-08-08 at 9.20.19 AM

You can go through websites which independently host wedding gift registries with gifts and/or ability for people to put money into a honeymoon fund. But they have huge overheads and costs for shipping. Moral of the story: Australian department stores..get with it!!!!

—–

Well, that’s part of the logistics of planning an overseas wedding. I’ll write more about what I’m thinking for decorations, etc. But until then, I need to go and watch Cupcake Wars and do a FitnessGlo workout.

The learning curve for wedding planning is insane. Planning a wedding is nuts. But it’s fun!

How did you go about planning your wedding? Have you been to an overseas wedding before?

~Mish

Wedding Brain Update (on other website)
Wedding Brain Update: What I’m Learning (on other website)

Leave a Reply

