Hometown Tourist

Have you ever thought to yourself..I need to explore more of where I live?

When I went back to Oregon, that was almost a year ago, erk…I did so many things with Andrew that I hadn’t done in YEARS! Picking blackberries behind the house I grew up in, going to the Aquarium, visiting Mt. Hood, floating down the river in Bend, Oregon…simply being a tourist in the state I grew up in.

 

DSC_0374 DSC_0371 IMG_2024 IMG_2061

I’ve lived in Bunbury for almost two years…and I swear that I haven’t gotten out much. Which is my own fault. Today my friend invited me to her new penthouse digs..overlooking the ocean..tough..I know. She’s moved into town from her place a bit outside of it. It’s both given us fresh perspectives on the town to be honest.

DSC_0002

We decided to go for coffee (I was starving) and a walk down the ‘main drag’ of Bunbury..or as I like to call it ‘Fun-Bury’. It was so good to be a tourist, there is so much to do when we become one. “Wow, I’ve never seen that store before!” “I need to grab a coffee there!”…all comments we were both making.

DSC_0005  DSC_0009

Settled on this cute and yummy cafe.

DSC_0008

I mean, how can you not love how they serve the tea?

DSC_0024

The complete beautiful frothed hope of the first bite of foam on a cappuccino is that what life is made for…isn’t it?

DSC_0026  DSC_0021

We both asked if we could have the burgers (her’s Chicken) de-constructed without the bread. And boy did they deliver! It was AMAZING! Had a pattie, cheese, onion jam, chorizo, tomato and rocket..and some garlic aioli … which I scrapped a lot of off, because I have this weird thing with mayo.

DSC_0028 DSC_0033

totally.hit.the.spot.

have you ever become a tourist if your hometown?

~Mish

This morning was a rough one…Diana and her family are dealing with hard-yard stuff with their newborn son..and my heart aches for them. Desperately. I’ll let her words speak for themselves, but I couldn’t help but think of a family that I’ve never known in person..and pray for their comfort.

Leave a Reply

