Daily Eats, Picking-up Chooks & Rice

You can all my a chook wrangler. I moved my three girls from their little chicken coop into the garden. They were LOVING the worms…they were in heaven.

IMG_4273

This is what you look like after carrying two chooks that got rained up who were digging up worms. 🙂

IMG_4272

The cats were clearly exhausted from looking at the chooks all morning.

IMG_4274

Yesterday was my second real day of the Hol-Whole30. This is how I’m approaching it!

Whole30 is a food based approach to gettin whole!
I’m going to look at the HOL-istic side of it: focusing on the mental, spiritual and physical aspects as well as food.

I’m not going to make it a big freakin’ deal on the blog…but for the most part I’m following the Whole30 outline. YES! I used a base for the chicken that wasn’t 100% whole30 and YES I licked the spoon for banana bread I just made. WHAT I AM doing is making meals which are more whole.

Breakfast

IMG_4269

Lunch and Dinner
A cashew chicken simmer sauce. For the most part it was whole30, there were two minimal ingredients of milk and soy sauce. I got over it quickly. I made ‘Paleo Rice’

IMG_4270

Paleo Ricke
1-2 serves

1/2 a large cauliflower head, grated on a cheese grater
1 onion, diced
1 clove garlic, diced or pressed
1/2 TB EVOO
Salt and Chili Flakes

In a large frying pan or wok, heat up oil over high heat
Add onion and garlic, sautee
Add in cauliflower and reduce to medium-high heat…sautee until desired. It took about 5-7 minutes
Add in salt and chili flakes to taste

Snacks
I had some fruit from this fruit tray at work

IMG_4275

I also had two small mandarins. When I got home from work, I was peckish…AND HERE is where my eating habits are changing. I would have normally opened up flavoured rice crackers and eating 2-4 rows of them, then maybe had some ice cream and a spoonful of peanut butter. Last night I had a hard-boiled egg, a small slice of salami, and some nuts. HUGE difference.

I’m still drinking the occasional diet coke…but like I said…it’s about balance and not complete insanity.

ever have chooks?

~Mish

Leave a Reply

