A Good Sieve

I have had an interesting week. Needless to say, it’s been capped off with being sick for three days at home … I have taken almost two weeks off from work this month. My body, mind, spirit are screaming REST WOMAN! So I am.

IMG_4286

I know that I’m entering a new season in my life.

DSC_0030

I can feel it in my bones, but more importantly in my heart. This whole new season of my life is a crazy one.

DSC_0147

It has become a sort of sieve for the things which I have held onto as accountability and markers of acceptance. Some of these are great things to have, and some are suck life-sucks. It’s no wonder I’m having to ‘put my big girl pants on’ and let them go. I keep coming back to how grateful I am that Andrew is in my life. He is such an anchor for me. He’s unwavering in his support, guidance, and assurance in the person that I am. He has a way of being able to guide me, and pose questions that are meant to better or clarify the craziness that envelopes my brain sometimes. He’s a sieve. A good one 🙂

IMG_4215

When I think about getting married in nine weeks my heart is so happy. We’ve decided upon getting a professional photographer for the wedding, I’ve solidified some of the catering stuff for the pub, I’m stoked about getting my make-up done (doing a trial next Friday before my hens night), and in final discussions about flowers. I’m excited because this feels like the laid-back wedding that is right for us right now. There’s no crazy wedding planning or even expectations behind it. It’s just Andrew and I…celebrating US…with our families.

My Dad has made the big decision to fly out to Australia. It is huge for him as I know that potentially my little brother, who’s a Senior, could be having a Final’s Football game on the exact day as our wedding. His last one ever.

IMG_2075

I know that the sacrifices of choosing to live where I live and make our lives together here in Australia is hard. It’s definitely a sieve for choice in life. We, Andrew and I, do our best to stay in contact with our family. But I have to admit, I think that the distance at times isn’t always bridged by Skype, cards, care packages and yearly visits. Somethings change, morph and give.

Sometimes it’s really easy to get your sieve blocked up with too much crap. Piling it in, until it doesn’t work anymore. That’s when the ‘water’ of life have to come in and give it a good clean. That can be friends, family, good long walks, a sweaty work-out, a good sleep, a glass of wine, or your spiritual grounding.

It is for freedom that Christ has set us free. Stand firm, then, and do not let yourselves be burdened again by a yoke of slavery ~Galatians 5:1

‘Slavery’ to me is making others approve of me. This is something that I have to work on. Something that I have to work through my own sieve. Our seasons change in our lives and our sieves help us to filter through what once was important, as something that we’re willing to let go. Or it could be the opposite. All I know is that I feel very lucky to have my faith and Andrew. That when it all feels like it’s a tinge too much, they breathe life back into me.

~Mish

 

Leave a Reply

