13 weeks

Maybe this is the boring band wagon “hey what’s going on with me at [x] weeks”…but I can’t help myself…maybe just palm it off to the hormones. I’ve been milking them as an excuse..and plan to do so for the next 24+ weeks.

This is me 13 weeks

524715_782114035334_647874338_n

Cravings

To be honest, I’m just hungry and thirsty all the time. I find that I can’t eat as much, but I have to eat more often. I LOVE spicy things. I have been eating bread every single day, and all of my IBS symptoms are gone. I’m loving salty/fatty things. I WAS that girl who was eating hot chips/fries with vinegar and chicken salt, at the mall on a wooden bench..at 10:30am. Go me. I’ve also had really WEIRD food cravings for things I ate growing up (cream of mushroom soup with white rice, chicken fried steaks, Spaghettios). I haven’t made or bought any of them, but I have fleeting cravings. There was a week, about week 8, where all I ate was tomato soup and grilled cheese sandwhiches.

Body Image/Food Stuff

Man, when I first found out I was prego..I FREAKED OUT. I actually binged for about a week, then I stopped because I just accepted that I had to eat when I was hungry. More importantly that I was going to have a body that was going to change. I will write more about this, because I have been brewing blog post for the past 8 weeks. It’s been a huge and beautiful mental shift. Calorie counting apps are gone. I’m done. I just listen to what I want. I eat what I crave, for the most part. I avoided donuts all day yesterday. I’m feeling ok with my body. I’m not ‘eating for two’, but I’m eating when I’m hungry. If I don’t, I wake up at 2am and have to eat something.

Exercise

To be honest, the first 12 weeks are a bit of tired blur. I mean, like try to peel your eye lids off of your eye-balls kinda tired. I haven’t done much of anything. However, I have been going on nightly 30-40 minutes walks and that’s about all I can handle. I’m happy with that. I’m feeling more energetic and am contemplating getting a gym membership so I can do the treadmill, some easy gym classes and circuit training when it gets super hot during the summer.

Overall thoughts

Well, we got through the 12 week scan this week. I found it very stressful. It’s the scan for Downs and two other chromosomal disorders. I thought about it a lot..and I have my opinions about the test..and I don’t feel like opening the can of worms as to whether you abort or not abort based upon these and other tests. However, I told Andrew I wasn’t going to abort. All of my bloods and ultrasound came back with flying colours, so I shall just keep on keepin’ on.

Coolest thing

I’m growing a human being. Geeze! It’s amazing when you see eyes, fingers, toes, legs, bladders, stomachs, a spine, brain, heart pumping etc. AMAZING. Then I cry. Every single time I see the little one and/or hear it’s heartbeat. Oh, it’s heartbeat is 152.

—–

Well, that’s my little weekly update. I’m in a good spot. In fact I’m 8 weeks binge free. A true blessing.

Mish xo

3 thoughts on “13 weeks

  1. Susan says:

    LOVE! This is so wonderful. I am so overjoyed for you. I remember the craziest cravings as well and also the Must Eat Constantly thing. And the insane fatigue (which I am also experiencing right now, but I’m hardly preg, just post-surgical ;-)). Will be following every week with great joy!

Leave a Reply

