5 Things That Surprised Me About Being Prego {so far}

I was making my normal three egg breakfast this morning (shout out to Miz) and realised that there are some things which I had ‘known’ about being pregnant…but has surprised me. I knew about the nausea, being tired, sore boobs. But I’m not sure I appreciated them to be honest.

5 things That Surprised Me About Being Prego {so far}

1. Exhaustion

OMG I have NEVER been so tired in my whole life. I mean, I’ve survived three degrees and exams and papers…but this level of exhaustion was amazing. Phenomenal to be exact. I described it as “I can’t peel my eye lids from my eye-balls tired”. The first 12-14 weeks were tiring. I don’t know if it helped that I was planning a wedding as well.

2. Boobs

Ok, I know that women complain of their boobs being sore, but this is a WHOLE new level of sore. Don’t touch me, don’t accidently cuddle me the wrong way and for the love of God when you find out I’m prego please PLEASE don’t squeeze hug me! So sore. They’ve calmed down a bit, but I’m warned that I should start getting prepared for nursing! eke!

3. Thirst

I can’t believe how thirsty I am..honestly. As one of my friends wrote the other day, she didn’t do a good job of drinking enough water. I find that I struggle as well. I’ve bought a Camelbak water bottle, I love the spout on it, so that’s encouraging me to drink.

4. Hunger

The first 12 weeks, I survived off of white bread, butter, and really just a lot of carbs. After that I’m back to eating most everything. I haven’t really craved anything. But what surprises me is how often I feel hungry. I mean I have gotten up in the middle of the night to pound some almonds, I have to eat within the first 30 minutes of waking up. Its a hunger that I can’t talk myself out of to be honest.

I have learned to make healthier choices with my snacking (hard boiled eggs, veggies, fruit, nuts, cheese slices). But I do have to eat. It’s not a hunger you can stave off, it’s something that you have to honour.

5. Baby Brain

I wrote about this on Facebook the other day. I can’t believe my brain. I say stupid stuff, stuff that doesn’t make sense, stuff that is jumbled up sometimes. It’s so funny. It’s a great escape-goat though, so I’m gonna milk it for all I can.

What are some things that surprised you about being prego?

~Mish

One thought on “5 Things That Surprised Me About Being Prego {so far}

Leave a Reply

