28 days: Sleep, Surviving & Smitten

I can NOT believe that it’s been four weeks since Ainslie came into our lives!!!

IMG_5753

And now

IMG_6002

I remember four weeks ago being with my husband in the hospital, begging him not to leave. The thought of being alone, on my own, was too much. I also begged him to save me from the salad that was presented to me for dinner. He got me thai food.

 

IMG_5770

It’s been a wild ride, but we’re doing it. We’re learning about it all…one minute at a time. I love that I’ve become a comfort for her. I love that she still wants to fall asleep on my chest.

IMG_5960

I’m also grateful for the comments on Jenna’s post which encouraged ‘Moms on Call‘. I hit the sleep deprivation wall this week and decided that something had to change. We’ve moved from 2-3 nightly wake-ups, to one very predictable wake-up around 2am…within the FIRST night. I got the app for my phone and we read through the sleep section together on the kindle. I NEVER thought that I would be a sleep schedule kinda person, but now we have a partnership around her sleep, we’re getting more sleep, we have structure in our day, and it’s been good for everyone. Honestly, it’s one of the best things we’ve done recently.

We’ve learned so much in four weeks. More that I’ve probably ever learned in my life. I still can’t believe that she’s ours…I’m still so in awe of it all.

Mish xo

 

4 thoughts on “28 days: Sleep, Surviving & Smitten

  1. saraheclement says:

    You grew and birthed a human being, and they gave you a salad? I love salad, but I think I might have thrown it in their face! Thai is a much better choice.

  2. laura says:

    i’ve heard so many good things about moms on call! glad you are having success with it too. i follow something very similar (i think a lot of these sleep training programs have the same backbone, with a few variations) but it hasn’t resulted in my little girl only waking up once at night! she is 8 weeks old and goes to bed at 7, wakes up to eat around 1 and 4 and then wakes up for good at 7am. so it’s a good stretch of sleep from 7-1, but i look forward to the day she can stretch it out even more.

    • Mish says:

      I think it maybe different for us, because we’re bottle feeding donated milk (and the very small amount I can express daily) due to my insufficient glandular tissue. But, she wakes between 2-3 nightly after going to sleep around 9pm. Last night it was 1:30 and then again at 5:30. It just ebbs and flows. but what I appreciate is that during that day I have ulimates (7am feed, 5:30pm feed) and it’s made my husband and I more accountable together and we have a beautiful night time routine which I cherish 🙂

Leave a Reply

