Moving In With a Pack-Rat

When I met Andrew I kinda, totally, knew that he was the one. I’m not sure how…maybe it was because he was wearing a NorthFace jacket? Maybe it was his beautiful brown eyes? Maybe it was because he’s a nerd and super nervous? Maybe it was because he took me to a bird park on our second date?

I’m not sure, but I knew he was the one.

I moved into his house after dating four about four months (Was I nuts? Possibly!) And I was SHOCKED! He was a pack-rat to the core. He had a couch that had been in his family for TWENTY years! Twenty years. We found change in he seat cushions that most likely was from his Dad. I mean, I know it’s good to keep stuff, but goodness gracious that is KEEPING STUFF!

What was more profound for me was the stuff I was holding onto. I mean, I had been moving yearly at university and then packed my life up into two suitcases and one carry on when I had moved to Australia 8 years ago. I had learned to pack lightly. I had learned how to shove my life into one car or two suitcases. I had learned what physically I did and didn’t need.

But emotionally I brought a lot more to the relationship when it came to baggage then he did.

Since , then, we do not have the excuse of ignorance, everything — and I do meant everything — connected with the old way of life has to go. It’s rotten through and through. Get rid of it. And take on an entirely new way of life — a God-fashioned life, a life from the inside and working itself into your conduct as God accurately reproduces his character in you. ~Ephesians 4:22-24

I was AM a pack-rat. I remember a time when I started sobbing in the bath, walked out dripping wet in a towel with mascara running down my face. He was making chili mussels and asked “what is wrong?” ….

I couldn’t wrap my head around his pure love for me. I couldn’t think of how on earth I had deserved such a wonderful, caring, thoughtful man. Although he still had the soda cup for a Mariners game 10 years ago…his baggage wasn’t damaging…it was cosmetic. Mine was damaging. I had stuff that wasn’t easily packed into a trailer and taken to the dump. Mine required way more effort. He has been patient with me, he has held me while I sobbed, answered desperate text messages and has loved me unconditionally…when I couldn’t myself.

So, it becomes the moment in our lives when we are called to get rid of the rotten stuff in our soul. Time to declutter. Time to purge. Time to let light in and know that God calls us to his unconditional love…we just have to stop packing around the hurts of our past and know that we are made for more.

~Mish xo

4 thoughts on “Moving In With a Pack-Rat

  1. Karen Anderson says:

    “I couldn’t wrap my head around his pure love for me. I couldn’t think of how on earth I had deserved such a wonderful, caring, thoughtful man. ”

    So many times I have been stopped in my tracks with the same thoughts.

    There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t thank God for Tim, that he loves me so unconditionally, and that I have learned to do love him the same way.

    • Mish says:

      Yes. He has loved me, in the worst of the worst. Unwavering. It’s a lesson that I have had to ponder, think about and embrace.

Leave a Reply

